Mango Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2000
This recipe is digusting. Do not waste your chicken on this one! For some reason I think it does not taste good because of the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
THIS RECEPIE IS INCERDIBLE...QUICK AND EASY TO PREPARE....IT IS SIMPLY ONE OF MY FAVORITE DISHES WHEN SERVING COMPANY...BE PREPARED FOR A FRUIT EXPLOSION IN YOUR MOUTH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Didn't really like this dish. You couldn't taste any mango flavor. It tasted more like OJ chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Unfortunately the taste of this dish is flat. The OJ overruns the mango, so much so that the mango ends up tasting like OJ. Maybe a mix of OJ and pineapple? Don't know, but at the price of boneless chicken breasts, I don't think I'll experiment. There are too many other excellent chicken mango dishes to rely on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I found this recipe useful although I made several changes to it that the rest of you may like to try. Someone gave me a bottle of ready-made spicy mango sauce. And following the steps to brown the chicken etc, I did just that. Later, scoop the chicken up and do the sauce. I added the orange juice 3/4 cups only instead of 3 cups. Then added the spicy mango sauce. Add more salt to it so that the OJ won't be too overpowering or too sour/sweet. Next, put the chicken back in and stir in sliced carrots and red capsicum. It looks good and enhances the taste. Oh and before that, make sure the chicken is marinated with Worchestershire sauce, salt, pepper and dark soy sauce. Try again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I agree that using the 3 cups of orange juice creates a liquidy sauce and overpowers the mango. I boiled the sauce with corn starch for 3-4 minutes until it thickened. It is refreshing and fruity, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
i used this recipe as an outline and then added only 1/2 a cup of orange juice pineapple juice and small pineapple chunks and finely chopped garlic, a weird combination but actually tasted very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
It was ok. I wish i HAD used pre-cooked shredded chicken. Heated mangos diminiishes their unique flavor. I am going to try chicken -peach dishes. My husband who loves mangos asked me to not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
9-27-11: Actually pretty good, but used less than 1 cup of orange juice and aggressively reduced the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States