Mango Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This recipe is good but needed a few revisions. I cooked the chicken and then removed it before adding the onions. It was much easier to stir this way. I took the advice of a few of the other reviews and only used 1 1/2 c. of orange juice/pineapple juice combination. Make sure you only use half of the cornstarch (use 1 tbsp + 1 tsp w/ the 1/4 c. hot water). After I added the cornstarch, I put the chicken back in, covered and simmered for a few minutes to let the chicken absorb the juices. I thought it was really good and I definitely got the mango flavor. Next time I will definitely try marinating the chicken in soy sauce first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flying Wizard
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
With the exception of cutting up the mango, this was a really easy meal. I halved the recipe, but left the amount of mango intact - that seemed to solve the lack of mango flavor that others mentioned. I didn't want to overcook the chicken in the process of browning it, so erred on the side of not quite browned in favor of allowing the chicken to poach in the delightful orange-mango sauce. I found it delightfully fruity and light-tasting. No rice needed - just added some steamed veggies for an excellent summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I made but substituted green onion for the red onion. Use olive oil instead of vegetable oil--must healthier and better flavor. Omit the orange juice and cornstarch all together--lower the calories--improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
loved it! a few minor adjustments - i cut the amount of orange juice in half and added crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
9-27-11: Actually pretty good, but used less than 1 cup of orange juice and aggressively reduced the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
It was ok. I wish i HAD used pre-cooked shredded chicken. Heated mangos diminiishes their unique flavor. I am going to try chicken -peach dishes. My husband who loves mangos asked me to not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
i used this recipe as an outline and then added only 1/2 a cup of orange juice pineapple juice and small pineapple chunks and finely chopped garlic, a weird combination but actually tasted very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I agree that using the 3 cups of orange juice creates a liquidy sauce and overpowers the mango. I boiled the sauce with corn starch for 3-4 minutes until it thickened. It is refreshing and fruity, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I found this recipe useful although I made several changes to it that the rest of you may like to try. Someone gave me a bottle of ready-made spicy mango sauce. And following the steps to brown the chicken etc, I did just that. Later, scoop the chicken up and do the sauce. I added the orange juice 3/4 cups only instead of 3 cups. Then added the spicy mango sauce. Add more salt to it so that the OJ won't be too overpowering or too sour/sweet. Next, put the chicken back in and stir in sliced carrots and red capsicum. It looks good and enhances the taste. Oh and before that, make sure the chicken is marinated with Worchestershire sauce, salt, pepper and dark soy sauce. Try again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States