Mango Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
OMG! I loved this recipe. I made some revisions. I used jerk paste instead of curry paste and regular vinegar instead of tarragon vinegar. I had to stop myself from eating because I ate kind of late and the dish has rice. I love the cilantro, mango, and jerk flavor! Sooo...good. Try and you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hamirah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
My whole family loved this recipe! The combination of fresh ingredients were fragrant and delicious. I couldn't find tarragon vinegar and didn't have time to make it so I substituted white wine vinegar and chopped fresh tarragon. I also used brown rice so I boiled the water before adding it to the baking pan. The chicken was a bit overdone so next time I will parboil the brown rice and bake the dish for 45 minutes instead of an hour. Thank you for this wonderful recipe Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was delicious as is but with a few tweaks could be a 5 star recipe. The flavor and texture were very comforting but I would have like a greater punch of flavor so next time I will up the amount of curry paste and vinegar I put in. I would also mix the curry paste mixture into the rice before I put the chicken in - very hard to distribute the flavors afterwards. I was surprised that the mango wasn't as mangoey as I thought it would be but instead mellowed out and combined with the rice to be like a sticky rice. Maybe jarred mango would actually be better to maintain the flavor. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This dish is a wonderful blend of taste! I would like to add a bit more curry paste for a bit more of a kick and some tarragon too. Easy & delicious just as it is though - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ravin Sunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Flavorful and fragrant. I used chicken breasts imstead of thighs, and had to cook it on the stovetop when my son forgot to put it in the oven :-) But it was still a huge hit. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made this dish exactly as state in the recipe. The flavors in this dish are really great which is why I am giving it 3 stars, however, there are lots of changes I would make next time. I feel 1/2 cup rice is not enough. I would up that to 1 cup for sure and leave the water alone so it doesn't turn out so runny. There was way too much liquid. I would also add the cilantro after it is cooked - all the flavor is cooked out by adding it before baking. I would probably add extra mango as well. And when searing the chicken thighs - I would not use so much oil! You will render fat from the chicken - there is no need to add more. I would slap it in the dry pan and sear it nicely to lock in flavors. If I try this recipe again with my changes I will edit and update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
made the whole block smell good, though the chicken was a bit dry after being both sauteed & baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Wow, this was flavorful! The cilantro was bold, the mango was sweet, and overall, it was just fantastic. I will confess I did not use green onions or rice (just baked the chicken in the mixture), but I felt the need to lick the plate after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
My husband and I made this last night. It was a very tasty combination and the chicken was moist. My husband thought there was a bit too much cilantro for him (I thought it was fine though!), so next time I might increase the mango a little and decrease the cilantro a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great combination of flavours, just a little bland... next time I will add salt or fish sauce to bring out the flavour of the red curry paste. Thanks though- it was a fun new recipe & I look forward to trying it again with my "tweaks".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States