Mango Cardamom Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was fantastic. The second time I made it, I used canned peaches and increased the cardamom because I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Sooooo easy to make.. My first bread pudding..Cardamom taste was a little over powering even after using 1tsp. Can also avoid the butter to dot on top.. Didn't make a difference..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
great recipie.....I tried with raisins and crushed semi dark chocolate block ....my boys and my ladies book club loved it :) Thank you for sharing ....makes lives (on the other side of the globe) sweeter ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Fantastic! This was my first attempt at a bread pudding and it was delicious. I had some rock hard leftover french bread and a super ripe mango to use up so this was perfect. Plus, I was really excited to use the cardamom I recently bought from Penzeys :). I did only use one mango since that was all I had on hand and like other reviewers I used 9X9 baking dish. I also learned my lesson on pouring the egg mixture immediately after whisking, my cardamom had sunk to the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
It was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I made this recipe as it was written except the amount of cardamom. Since I only had cardamom seeds that I had to grind myself, I feared that it would be too strong, so I reduced it to 1 tsp. It was the perfect amount. I really love how the cardamom and mango tasted together. And it was relatively easier than I expected bread pudding to be. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Just wanted to let anyone that needs cardamom that it can be found in middle eastern and international food stores. Th middle east stores sell it quite cheap and it works well in rice dishes and makes coffee flavorful too. Definitely a spice you are missing out on if you never tried it before..... This recipe is fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Loved, loved, loved this recipe. Made it for friends who were duly impressed. Then, made it again substituting plums for the mango and yep, still fantastic! This recipe is a keeper. Love the cardamom spice in this. So flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I really enjoyed this-I found the mango to be a little tart, so I will make sure mine are nice and ripe next time. Also, I second another reviewer's advice to make sure the cardamom is well mixed. I really enjoyed the flavor the first time, but the second time I forgot to give it a final mixing and we had a few bites that were a bit too strong! Really a nice spin on one of our favorite desserts and the texture is perfect! *Note-my husband wanted me to try it with apples (he's not a huge mango fan). Don't even bother-I reduced the cardamom but it was still way too strong).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States