Mango Cardamom Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I prepared this dish for some dinner guests from Kenya because mango is such a staple over there. They loved it! He said that he didn't like most American desserts because they are too sweet, but he thought this was perfect. So that tells you that it is not a rich dessert, if that's what you're looking for. I just used plain white bread like the recipe called for but perhaps using the Hawaiian bread that a previous reviewer used would give it a little extra sweetness. I personally love sweet, rich desserts so I probably would not make this again for myself, but I'm giving it 5 stars on behalf of my friends from Kenya. And it's so quick and easy to make that I give it 5 stars in that department. One more note--I could not find cardomom in the grocery store so I substituted a combination of cinnamon and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frankie_z
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Just like some of the others, I was unsure of how the combination of bread pudding and mango was going to taste. This recipe was so simple. My mother-in-law is German and a fantastic cook. I made this and brought it over to her for her to taste. I carried it in, set it down on the counter and went out to my car to get something else. When I returned to the house I caught her with spoon in hand already eating the mango bread pudding right out of the baking dish. I laughed and she remarked how tasty it was. She just about ate the whole thing. Next time I make it I will make sure that I pour the egg cardomon mixture onto the bread/mangoes immediately after mixing the cardomon in. I didnt the first time and the cardomon had all settled to the bottom of the mixture and consequently it was all concentrated in the same area of the baking dish. This recipe is a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankie_z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This was a hit. We had a bunch of mangos and tried this. We didn't have Cardamom, so substituted pumpkin spice and cinnamon. Also we used Hawaiian sweet bread instead of plain white bread, and added raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meatball Saves the Day
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I love mangos and was looking for some good ways to use them, and my husband loves bread pudding so I figured this would be perfect. The only thing I changed was to reduce the cardamom to 1 tsp for fear of it being overpowering, and I thought that amount was perfect. I also really urge people not to replace the cardamom with another spice- it gives such an amazing flavor to the mango. I made this in ramekins, and topped them with a scoop of vanilla ice cream- delicious, and looked pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I love bread pudding & I love mangoes but I was unsure of the two together...I shouldn't have been....this was good! I had 3 WW kaiser rolls that needed to be used so I used those, I had two small mangoes & one large so I used all three & I added a little more sugar. My eggs were very large so I just added a bit more milk to compensate for the additional bread. On the test bite, I thought it might need a sauce to accompany it but then I couldn't stay out of it while I was cooking dinner so evidently not. LOL The first thing my hubby said to me this morning was to say again how good the bread pudding was so I guess it's a winner in his book too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annaid
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Pretty tasty. Good texture and easy to make. I halved the recipe and baked the pudding in four 6 ounce ramekins. Not exceptionally sweet and the cardamom is a little overpowering for me--next time I'll cutting the amount of cardamom and adding cinnamon, and perhaps some raisins. Will probably be really good with whipped cream, custard sauce, or ice cream, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Just wanted to let anyone that needs cardamom that it can be found in middle eastern and international food stores. Th middle east stores sell it quite cheap and it works well in rice dishes and makes coffee flavorful too. Definitely a spice you are missing out on if you never tried it before..... This recipe is fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I was looking for a healthy bread pudding recipe for our extra baguettes, and this was it! This is a great combo (it tastes like an indian dish that is basically mango pulp with cardamom), and I lightened it up by using Splenda and Smart Balance instead of butter. It was really delicious and not too sweet-- my entire family loved it. Crunchy on top, kind of a custard on the bottom, and the mango adds plenty of fiber! Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States