Mango Cardamom Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
this is soooo simple and great way to use up mangoes. cardamom makes the dish, so don't leave it out or substitute with another spice. excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I'm going to make this again tomorrow, but will use more cardamon (I scaled this down to 2 servings, and we could barely taste the 1/2 tsp). I might also try it with raisins. With a little bit of tweaking, this would be absolutely awesome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Pretty tasty. Good texture and easy to make. I halved the recipe and baked the pudding in four 6 ounce ramekins. Not exceptionally sweet and the cardamom is a little overpowering for me--next time I'll cutting the amount of cardamom and adding cinnamon, and perhaps some raisins. Will probably be really good with whipped cream, custard sauce, or ice cream, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Really good! Istead of white bread, I used cinnammon raison bread which made it really yummy. I dont know what the heck cardamom is so I used cinnammon. You can never have enough cinnammon. I baked it a little longer because it was very juicy. Grandma loved it cause she can't eat anything hard cause it will hurt her teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This delicious recipe was very easy to make, and was great when served warm with a topping of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
The best bread pudding I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I prepared this dish for some dinner guests from Kenya because mango is such a staple over there. They loved it! He said that he didn't like most American desserts because they are too sweet, but he thought this was perfect. So that tells you that it is not a rich dessert, if that's what you're looking for. I just used plain white bread like the recipe called for but perhaps using the Hawaiian bread that a previous reviewer used would give it a little extra sweetness. I personally love sweet, rich desserts so I probably would not make this again for myself, but I'm giving it 5 stars on behalf of my friends from Kenya. And it's so quick and easy to make that I give it 5 stars in that department. One more note--I could not find cardomom in the grocery store so I substituted a combination of cinnamon and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This was a hit. We had a bunch of mangos and tried this. We didn't have Cardamom, so substituted pumpkin spice and cinnamon. Also we used Hawaiian sweet bread instead of plain white bread, and added raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States