Mango Cardamom Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Thank you for sharing this absolutely delicious recipe! I mix the cardamon with the bread and mango to ensure an even distribution then sprinkle somemore on top before baking. I have also used French and cinammon/raisin bread to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I thought this was awesome, and so did almost everyone else in my family. It is very light, not a heavy load like most bread pudding. We ate it hot, with some cool whip and it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I was looking for a healthy bread pudding recipe for our extra baguettes, and this was it! This is a great combo (it tastes like an indian dish that is basically mango pulp with cardamom), and I lightened it up by using Splenda and Smart Balance instead of butter. It was really delicious and not too sweet-- my entire family loved it. Crunchy on top, kind of a custard on the bottom, and the mango adds plenty of fiber! Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This dessert was excellent. I cut down on the milk the first time because I like my bread pudding on the dry side. I also baked it in a loaf pan and it turned out great. I loved the mango taste and made a simple vanilla sauce to go on top. This was so easy and tasty--it will be a regular dessert in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I just made this pudding and unfortunately I did not like it as much as everyone else did. I thought it was too sweet and the consistency of the milk/egg mix was similar to that of an omelette. I even cooked it for much longer than the indicated time and at a higher temperature. I sprinkled some brown sugar on top hoping it would caramelize nicely but it just seeped through instead. Maybe I just don't like bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Delicious. I used a 9 x 13 inch baking dish and it came out great. Just the right amount of cardamom in our opinion. Next time I might try half mango, half some other fruit that would complement it like peaches. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Definitely a different, smooth bread pudding with a fresh, interesting flavor that is perhaps best suited for summer meals. I used canned pureed mango as I didn't have fresh mangoes at home, and it turned out fine (you can get canned mango from an Asian grocery). Topped it with toasted coarsely chopped almonds, since I like having that nutty crunch. Served it warm with whipped topping. Went over better with the adults than with the teenagers, so I'll probably only make this one if a gathering includes many adults with adventurous tastes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annaid
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frankie_z
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Just like some of the others, I was unsure of how the combination of bread pudding and mango was going to taste. This recipe was so simple. My mother-in-law is German and a fantastic cook. I made this and brought it over to her for her to taste. I carried it in, set it down on the counter and went out to my car to get something else. When I returned to the house I caught her with spoon in hand already eating the mango bread pudding right out of the baking dish. I laughed and she remarked how tasty it was. She just about ate the whole thing. Next time I make it I will make sure that I pour the egg cardomon mixture onto the bread/mangoes immediately after mixing the cardomon in. I didnt the first time and the cardomon had all settled to the bottom of the mixture and consequently it was all concentrated in the same area of the baking dish. This recipe is a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankie_z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Amazing taste and texture! I don't think I'll use cardamom again next time but that's just a question of personal taste. I'll try with ginger or cinnamon. My bf gobbled it down and I don't think he had ever eaten something with cardamom before: that's a keeper in my books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States