Mango Cardamom Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My bread pudding came out horribly! I think the mangoes I used were too ripe and juicy because after the bread pudding came out of the oven, there was a layer of mango juice on the bottom! I literally had to pour and scoop it out. I also didn't use cardamom, but instead used cinnamon and ground ginger like another reviewer suggested, but it was still very bland. It was quite embarrassing when I brought this dish to my church's annual Thanksgiving dinner and no one wanted it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Halved recipe, used 1.5 qt casserole and baked for 30 min. I made two batches, one with a cinnamon raisin bread and one with a bagguette. The cinnamon raisin batch had too many competing flavors the first day, but given a chance to meld was acceptable - 3 stars. The bagguette version was great right out and didn't last to the next day. The crusts were especially nice; I'm glad I used an end - 4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Not as sweet as I expected it to be - used cinnamon instead of cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Good recipe. I was asked to bring dessert to a dinner featuring Indian food. This worked nicely. I used half cinnamon and half cardamon based on previous reviews. In the future, I would go ahead and use all cardamon, but that is a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This had a smooth texture and a great taste. I turned it into a sugar free recipe by using Splenda in place of the sugar. I only had whole cardamoms and it took a while to husk them and then grind the spice in my blender/grinder. Other than that, it was quick and easy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Loved it! Not too sweet! I also made a drizzle for it using 1/4 Cup Hazelnut coffee flavor syrup, 1/4 cup Half & Half, and 2 ablespoons of Cornstarch. Heat it in the microwave for 2 minutes. And drizzle over top when down baking! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbits

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meatball Saves the Day
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I love mangos and was looking for some good ways to use them, and my husband loves bread pudding so I figured this would be perfect. The only thing I changed was to reduce the cardamom to 1 tsp for fear of it being overpowering, and I thought that amount was perfect. I also really urge people not to replace the cardamom with another spice- it gives such an amazing flavor to the mango. I made this in ramekins, and topped them with a scoop of vanilla ice cream- delicious, and looked pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I made this for a family gathering, and everyone loved it! Of course, my parents are Indian, so they like anything with mango and cardamom in it. :-) I really do suggest using cardamom and not substituting another spice. The flavor meshes with fresh mango unlike anything else out there. This recipe was also easy, which is always a plus when cooking for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Tastes almost like a fruit cobbler ... amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
No matter how hard I tried, I just couldn't get this right. The BF was so excited when I was baking it and then so disappointed with the results. This is one is a miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States