Mango Cardamom Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Yum! I halved the recipe and made it in a pie plate. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was pretty good. I agree that it tastes better with icecream. It's a very different light flavor that I think someone who likes bread pudding better than I could appreciate more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My husband and I enjoyed this quite a bit. The texture of the mango compared to the rest of the bread pudding was a little off; I think it may be better to make the pudding without the mango, and serve the mango on the side as a garnish or on top. It still tasted good, though. We loved the addition of cardamom in this. I made this a second time using some other fruit instead of mango (it may have been apple, but it's been a while so I don't remember for sure) and still enjoyed it, but again the contrasting texture was a little off. I guess we just don't like anything in our bread pudding (neither of us really like the traditional raisins in bread pudding either.) I will definitely make this again and just leave out the fruit if we don't feel like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I love bread, so i love bread pudding; but most of my family doesn't care for it too much. But my Grandmas Husband wanted me to make a dessert that had mangoes in it. So of course, i looked on [my fav. site for recipes] this website, and found this lovely recipe. I had just made bread pudding a couple days earlier from Paula Deens cookbook (which is the best thing i've ever tasted!) but i thought this would be something different and something to try. I dont care for mangoes that much, but it was good with the sweet and kind of tangy flvor from them, and i used fresh ones from the yard. And, boy did this just taste wonderful! I thought it came out just like bread pudding should, and the recipe was easy to follow. Very delicious! I served with some cool whip; you could also add an extra sliced mango on top for a garnish. :) enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarchCook95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I'v never had bread pudding before. I just don't think i like it too much. I like mangos alot but this dessert was just ok. I don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I had such high hopes for this recipe as I love mangoes and I love cardamom. But I did not care for this. Maybe if I'd used fresh french bread or something, but I used old hot dog buns (to use them up) and just maybe that was the problem. What a waste of good mangoes, really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
My family just picked out the mangos and ate them. I used french bread and the final dish did not taste good, and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very tasty. I used wheat bread and fat free milk. I halfed the recipe but kept both mangos in. I didn't have any vanilla, but it was still plenty sweet. I wasn't sure about the cardamom (didn't like it in the lentil soup) but it tastes great in this. I served it warm with fat free cool whip on top. The cool whip really gave it the extra push it needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I had some Marzipan Stollen (from Christmas) in the freezer that needed to be used. I dried the slices for 2 days and diced the bread up small. I soaked the bread in the custard for about 30 minutes. I thought it needed just a little sauce so I whipped together a coconut sauce: 1 cup coconut milk (light works just fine), 1 T. white sugar, or more to taste, 1 T. cornstarch, 1/8 - 1/4 tsp. coconut extract and 1/2 - 1 T. shredded unsweetened coconut. Put 3/4 cup of coconut milk and sugar into a medium pot and heat until just simmering. Mix the cornstarch into the remaining 1/4 cup coconut milk and whisk till smooth. Add mixture to simmering milk and stir constantly until thickened. Remove from the heat, add the coconut extract and coconut. To serve I sliced the bread pudding and served the coconut sauce on the side. I actually think the bread pudding tasted better on the second day, but maybe it was because I had it with the coconut sauce on the second day and plain on the first day. At any rate, I liked this recipe. For someone who likes their dessert not so sweet and delightfully fruity, you should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
So Easy! So Good! I've never had cardamom before (knowingly anyway) and what a distinctive and GREAT aroma and flavor. Kids loved it. Guests loved it. A WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States