Mango Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Having read the comments/ratings first I adjusted the cooking temperature (low), increased the flour to 2 cups and I noticed the recipe doesn't call for salt... which is probably one reason why it didn't rise for the others. You get 5 stars for ease of preparation! I have taken the a loaf cake and two muffin pans out of the oven and I covered them with dish towels to keep in the heat so they will continue cooking in the middle. They look ok so I'm sure it will take ok as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was great recipe..We loved this..Delicious;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I think there is a mistake with the flour measurement , i used 2 1/2 cups flour and the cake was fantastic! I also cut the mango to cubes instead of meshing( 1 whole mango).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I added more flour to make it less moist as many mentioned. It seemed to bake fine, but then fell due to the dense moisture. Even if you prefer a 'pudding' english type rather than a light cake, it still did not have much taste. Thinking the author may have left out baking powder??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I just made this cake and it is awful, the amount of ingredients are wrong, the cake is still unbaked after being in the oven for more than 1 1/2 hrs. The cake does not rise, it tastes bland and is still so gooey inside. Why this recipe is even online. I have been baking cakes for more than 20+ years and I have never seen a recipe so bad. I am glad I was not baking this cake for a party or something. What a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I baked it today and it was light and fluffy and then sank after coming out of the oven. It is a great Potluck Recipe! Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Awesome! I increased flour to 2 cups and it was still as moist as can be. I made muffins. Baked for 20 minutes and glazed with a sugar citrus glaze. YUMMY! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARISTA74
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I had the same problems as most others did. It was too wet, didn't rise enough, no mango flavor, etc. It could pass as a bread pudding because of it's texture. And that's what my kids thought it was. I made the mango glaze that another reviewer suggested and that made it seem more mango-ey. I had high hopes for this recipe and used 1 t. cardamom to enhance the whole mango flavor, but it didn't help. Will not make this again even though the kids ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARISTA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I used milk soured with vinegar so perhaps that's why this cake didn't set up but after 65 minutes at 375, the cake looked beautiful. However, when I checked it by inserting a knife, the knife came out wet! What's up with that? This is my second attempt and all of the ingredients were fresh. The Mango was fresh, too. I'll be looking for a different recipe next time I have a hankering for something mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I loved this cake, I cooked it in a bundt pan and I used lemon juice instead of vanilla, might add both next time. Was moist, almost like a banana bread consistency. I did add some extra flour as well to make sure it didn't come out to moist, I think I added 1/2 cup more or so. Yummy, thanks for the recipe, a great way to use up overripe mangos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States