Mango-Bacon-Butternut Squash Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Tastes great! It's also easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have thyme or mango but bacon & squash is a great combo. I covered the pan and added a dash of water to help steam the squash during the first half of the cooking. Once it started to soften I took the lid off and let the water evaporate. Squash browned nicely. I paired it with the Simple Slow Roast Chicken recipe (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/simple-slow-roast-chicken/).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
For me this was too sweet. The sweetness of the mango and the sweetness of the butternut needed some heat or some savoriness to offset it. I think the issue is the description on "one butternut squash" The butternut squash I had , after paring was close to 2 1/2 pounds of squash.. the description shows this to feed 2 people so I cannot imagine anyone being able to eat a pound and 1/4 of butternut. I didn't even put the full amount of squash in as it seemed like way too much for the amount of bacon. So I will make this again, but adjust the squash amount or add more bacon or sausage and some heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner but put it in a whole wheat tortilla to make burritos... used thick cut bacon and added an extra slice (It still could use more). It is really good! I think like one other person said, it is sweet and could never imagine eating it by itself but it is good as a burrito and the savory bacon helps offset it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I pureed 1.5 c squash with half a bag of bacon bits and a small mango. It was okay, but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Not sure how a family full of picky eaters would like this but all of them said they loved it!! I loved how easy it was to make. The only thing I did different was fill the bottom of the pan with bacon (six or seven slices). Great addition to breakfast for dinner meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza Hellenbrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
good served with poched egg over it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Pretty good, Me being a bacon lover would do a couple more strips of bacon and maybe add some chopped onion as well, otherwise I'm sure I'll be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Peeling and cubing the squash was a pain, but the recipe was very good. I did add some chopped onions for additional flavor. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcupocoffee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I ran out of frozen mango, but I had some roasted squash, bacon and kale in the fridge so thought I'd try that combo. It's delicious! I think the slight bite of the greens might balance the sweetness of the squash better, anyway -- it was plenty sweet for me without the fruit. I julienned the kale and added it along with some minced garlic after crisping the bacon (and draining all but 2 tbls. of the fat), then added the squash and a dash of white balsamic vinegar. Fantastic side or main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States