Mango-Bacon-Butternut Squash Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I ran out of frozen mango, but I had some roasted squash, bacon and kale in the fridge so thought I'd try that combo. It's delicious! I think the slight bite of the greens might balance the sweetness of the squash better, anyway -- it was plenty sweet for me without the fruit. I julienned the kale and added it along with some minced garlic after crisping the bacon (and draining all but 2 tbls. of the fat), then added the squash and a dash of white balsamic vinegar. Fantastic side or main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Peeling and cubing the squash was a pain, but the recipe was very good. I did add some chopped onions for additional flavor. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcupocoffee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Pretty good, Me being a bacon lover would do a couple more strips of bacon and maybe add some chopped onion as well, otherwise I'm sure I'll be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
good served with poched egg over it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Not sure how a family full of picky eaters would like this but all of them said they loved it!! I loved how easy it was to make. The only thing I did different was fill the bottom of the pan with bacon (six or seven slices). Great addition to breakfast for dinner meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza Hellenbrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I pureed 1.5 c squash with half a bag of bacon bits and a small mango. It was okay, but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner but put it in a whole wheat tortilla to make burritos... used thick cut bacon and added an extra slice (It still could use more). It is really good! I think like one other person said, it is sweet and could never imagine eating it by itself but it is good as a burrito and the savory bacon helps offset it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
For me this was too sweet. The sweetness of the mango and the sweetness of the butternut needed some heat or some savoriness to offset it. I think the issue is the description on "one butternut squash" The butternut squash I had , after paring was close to 2 1/2 pounds of squash.. the description shows this to feed 2 people so I cannot imagine anyone being able to eat a pound and 1/4 of butternut. I didn't even put the full amount of squash in as it seemed like way too much for the amount of bacon. So I will make this again, but adjust the squash amount or add more bacon or sausage and some heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have thyme or mango but bacon & squash is a great combo. I covered the pan and added a dash of water to help steam the squash during the first half of the cooking. Once it started to soften I took the lid off and let the water evaporate. Squash browned nicely. I paired it with the Simple Slow Roast Chicken recipe (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/simple-slow-roast-chicken/).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Tastes great! It's also easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States