Mango-Bacon-Butternut Squash Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
For me this was too sweet. The sweetness of the mango and the sweetness of the butternut needed some heat or some savoriness to offset it. I think the issue is the description on "one butternut squash" The butternut squash I had , after paring was close to 2 1/2 pounds of squash.. the description shows this to feed 2 people so I cannot imagine anyone being able to eat a pound and 1/4 of butternut. I didn't even put the full amount of squash in as it seemed like way too much for the amount of bacon. So I will make this again, but adjust the squash amount or add more bacon or sausage and some heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have thyme or mango but bacon & squash is a great combo. I covered the pan and added a dash of water to help steam the squash during the first half of the cooking. Once it started to soften I took the lid off and let the water evaporate. Squash browned nicely. I paired it with the Simple Slow Roast Chicken recipe (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/simple-slow-roast-chicken/).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Pretty good, Me being a bacon lover would do a couple more strips of bacon and maybe add some chopped onion as well, otherwise I'm sure I'll be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
good served with poched egg over it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Not sure how a family full of picky eaters would like this but all of them said they loved it!! I loved how easy it was to make. The only thing I did different was fill the bottom of the pan with bacon (six or seven slices). Great addition to breakfast for dinner meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I pureed 1.5 c squash with half a bag of bacon bits and a small mango. It was okay, but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner but put it in a whole wheat tortilla to make burritos... used thick cut bacon and added an extra slice (It still could use more). It is really good! I think like one other person said, it is sweet and could never imagine eating it by itself but it is good as a burrito and the savory bacon helps offset it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Tastes great! It's also easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States