Mandelbrot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe was good but not great. I think it needs more sugar - maybe a whole cup instead of 3/4 cup. Although the dough is sticky, I found that rolling it out onto a piece of plastic wrap made it easier to work with. I made one loaf with chocolate syrup and that was a disaster. The syrup ended up all over the cookie sheet while baking. The next two loaves were made with chocolate chips and came out better. I wrapped the loaves tightly in the plastic wrap before putting them on the cookie sheet which made it easy to place them on the sheet - I just unrolled them onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. It was pretty easy, but I don't think I'll try it again without making some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
i'm so happy i found this recipe! it looks like just a cinnamon and sugar mandelbread on the outside, but inside theres a delicious layer of chocolate! i used a little less chocolate syrup and a little more flour, and these came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
A true Mandelbrot has almonds in it, that's what mandel means (almonds). This is not mandelbrot. I make real mandelbrot every year with lots of almonds and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Interesting cookie, but not mandelbrot. "Mandelbrot" is Yiddish for "Almond bread" and resembles almond biscotti, only lighter and fluffier. By replacing the almond flavor with orange and chocolate, this recipe creates something else entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Tasty! Be careful though, the dough is seriously sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Although it turned out good, it was a nightmare making it. I eventually ended up adding water to the recipe just to get the ingredients to mix together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This cookie is actually less time consuming to make than most! A plus for weeknights. The key to making these is to coat the countertop with a dusting of flour before rolling out the loaf. Otherwise it's a very sticky mess. I tried just coating my hands with cooking spray but that didn't work. Just a pinch of flour did the trick. I also chopped my choc.chips up before loading them into the loaf. Use zest if you can; the orange/chocolate flavor is soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This recipe was so good! I loved it, the 1st time it was pretty hard but after adding more flour and substituting the chocolate syrup for chocolate chips, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This recipe wasn't as easy as I thought, but the taste was delicous. Next time I'll try using chocolate chips instead of the syrup which decided to ooze out. Other than the difficulty of folding and creasing, the cookie/cake was great. - Steph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
maybe i didnt make this right, but i didnt seem to like it. it tasted more like a crunchy bread than a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States