Mandarin Shrimp and Vegetable Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
I used a Low-Sugar Marmalade because I thought it might be too sweet. It was fine using the low-sugar, but after tasting it I think the regular marmalade would have been fine,too.The overall flavor is very good. The only thing I would change is to not cook the vegetables so long. Once the sauce is added and you have to cook it to thicken, the vegetables become overcooked. I also made this with chicken instead of the shrimp and it was still fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
I was a little apprhensive at first, but it actually turned out pretty good. Tasted almost like I had ordered in! I would definitely make it again. It took a while to make though ... mainly preparing all the ingredients ... but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
My whole family enjoyed this recipe. I thought the sauce needed to be a little less sweet so I reduced the amount of marmalade and increased the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIBLERTFINCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I thought this was a great recipe and rather quick to make. My husband doesn't like broccoli, so I used snap peas which tasted really good. I also added onions and mushrooms. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Easy to prepare and very tasty, altho 1 TBS of hot pepper sauce made this dish too hot for our family. Will adjust next time. Kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This is absolutely delicious! I love really hot dishes, so I used hot pepper jelly instead of orange marmalade. I won't do that next time, because I was the only one who could take the heat. That said, the other flavors were excellent and I know with the right preserve, this will be a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe - It was delicious - You could do this with chicken or any vegetables you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
It's a little too hot! And could add a little more cornstarch in order to thicken sauce. It was still a tasty meal though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This was great! I agree with Theresa though - the broccoli became overcooked while the sauce was thickening. Next time I'll just steam it for 1 - 2 min instead. I mixed all the sauce ingredients ahead of time and refrigerated. I love ginger, so I used 2 Tblsp instead of 1 - it still was not a pronounced ginger flavor! It doesn't take long at all to prepare, except to peel and devein the shrimp. The first time I made it I doubled the sauce so there would be plenty for the rice, but I really didn't need to. This makes a really wonderful meal! I loved the inclusion of the onion, peppers and broccoli! Be sure to use a top-brand orange marmalade in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
As prepared, it was a little spicy. We cut the hot pepper sauce down to 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States