Mandarin Shrimp and Vegetable Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
I used a Low-Sugar Marmalade because I thought it might be too sweet. It was fine using the low-sugar, but after tasting it I think the regular marmalade would have been fine,too.The overall flavor is very good. The only thing I would change is to not cook the vegetables so long. Once the sauce is added and you have to cook it to thicken, the vegetables become overcooked. I also made this with chicken instead of the shrimp and it was still fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
I was a little apprhensive at first, but it actually turned out pretty good. Tasted almost like I had ordered in! I would definitely make it again. It took a while to make though ... mainly preparing all the ingredients ... but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
My whole family enjoyed this recipe. I thought the sauce needed to be a little less sweet so I reduced the amount of marmalade and increased the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIBLERTFINCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I thought this was a great recipe and rather quick to make. My husband doesn't like broccoli, so I used snap peas which tasted really good. I also added onions and mushrooms. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Easy to prepare and very tasty, altho 1 TBS of hot pepper sauce made this dish too hot for our family. Will adjust next time. Kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This is absolutely delicious! I love really hot dishes, so I used hot pepper jelly instead of orange marmalade. I won't do that next time, because I was the only one who could take the heat. That said, the other flavors were excellent and I know with the right preserve, this will be a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe - It was delicious - You could do this with chicken or any vegetables you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
It's a little too hot! And could add a little more cornstarch in order to thicken sauce. It was still a tasty meal though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This was great! I agree with Theresa though - the broccoli became overcooked while the sauce was thickening. Next time I'll just steam it for 1 - 2 min instead. I mixed all the sauce ingredients ahead of time and refrigerated. I love ginger, so I used 2 Tblsp instead of 1 - it still was not a pronounced ginger flavor! It doesn't take long at all to prepare, except to peel and devein the shrimp. The first time I made it I doubled the sauce so there would be plenty for the rice, but I really didn't need to. This makes a really wonderful meal! I loved the inclusion of the onion, peppers and broccoli! Be sure to use a top-brand orange marmalade in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
As prepared, it was a little spicy. We cut the hot pepper sauce down to 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States