Mandarin Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly..I had high hopes but was dissappointed. Took it to a BBQ and it was eaten by a couple of people but unlike everything else I took, I had to bring the pan back full. I decided maybe I should taste it myself to see the deal. The orange part had a decent flavor, but the crust was NOT good. It was very gritty and didn't go with the filling. I do not think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARK89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I made this recipe for a family gathering. Everyone really liked it!!! Next time I might try making it with a graham cracker crust just for something different. I used two 14 oz. cans of mandarin oranges in my recipe!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I looked up this recipe because I had too many cans of mandarin oranges in my pantry. Looking at all the good reviews I thought this was definetly going to be a hit! Unless I did something incredibly wrong -which doesn't seem possible because my sister and I both made this together, this came out inedible. It was too sweet, almost tasted like someone poored sugar all over it, ruining any hope of something edible. I followed the directions and unfortunately came up with something that had to be thrown away that same night. (AND I'M EASY TO PLEASE!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Easy to make. The crust seemed a little gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Schneidewind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very good!!! I have grew up with this salad and it is always a hit!!! Couple hints, the individuals who thought the orange taste was too strong....this calls for a 6oz can of concentrate, most are 12 oz, so if you're putting in the whole can, then that is why the taste is so strong. Also, I only put in about 3/4 can. of condensed milk due to the sweetness, use brown sugar in the crust, and 2 cans of 16oz. oranges. Hopefully this will help!! Thanks again for the post!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This Salad is wonderful! I only used 1/4 cup of sugar in the crust and fat free sweetened condensed milk and whipped topping, It turned out great! will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peanutbutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Pulaski, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I was looking for something different to take to a family gathering and came across this recipe - I'm so glad that I did, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This was pretty good. I thought the orange taste was a little strong so next time I will only use half a can of concentrate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Very good. The cracker crust was excellent. Hubby wants to have this for Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
A little sweet for me, but my son had thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince Cady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lennox, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States