Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Great, easy sauce! I didn't have mandarin oranges so I used a fresh orange. Left out the cashews, and at serving time I added some frozen mixed stir fry veggies. Thank you Tammie Bickar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This recipe was great...I followed the recipe except for, I used fresh mandarin. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pchbloom
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
One of the easiest and tastiest meals I've made with Chinese restaurant taste! I used homemade hoisin sauce (with peanut butter). Added some cornstarch to the hoisin/orange mixture to thicken the sauce since I didn't flour the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Delicious. Added some red onion instead of green since we had it on hand and omitted the cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This recipe is perfect! Everyone loved it and was left begging for more. I didn't have hoisin sauce so I used a little orange marinade I had handy and added some chili oil to spice it up. Also, to those people who are complaining that the mandarins become soft, they are supposed to completely break down and form a thick sauce. If you have visible orange pieces you didnt cook it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunkChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
It was a big hit with everyone and very easy to make! Good if you are in a hurry to make dinner. If you are cooking for a large crowd, could prepare chicken ahead of time and then make sauce just before needed and add chicken and heat through. Did increase ingred. to: 1 entire large green onion (abt 3 tbsp chopped), 1 tbsp hoisin sauce, 2 small cans mandarin oranges (16 oz), 1 small pkg cashews (3.5 oz/100 g)- chopped in half, extra juice as needed to increase sauce. I also added to sauce abt 3 tbsp each of red & yellow pepper chopped - slightly sauteed, for added colour. Took advice of some and added the mandarins and nuts last so they didn't get mushy or soft. Can see in future adding red pepper flakes to make a bit more spicey and zesty, depending on your guests tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Our mall has a sweet orange chicken. If that is what you are looking for, this is not your recipe. The flavor I ended up with was a gingery, soyish, really orange sauce, which is not my preference, but I can see where it could be for others. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is really easy and really tasty. I didn't have canned mandarins so used about 5 fresh ones. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Definitely a keeper! The family loved it. A very quick and easy recipe. I did not have mandarin oranges so I used a tangerine I had on hand. I think it definitely needs mandarins as the tangerine was slightly bitter. I also added chopped zucchini and thinly sliced green peppers that needed to be used up. The sauce was delicious. I tripled the sauce as DH likes to have lots of sauce and I didn't think the specified amount would be enough for us. Doubling would have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Oh this was sooo good. As per other reviewers advice, I did double the orange juice. I cubed the chicken and dipped in egg and then the flour and used all oil. I added 1 clove of chopped garlic and 1 tsp. fresh grated ginger to the sauce mix. I left out the cashews because of family nut issues and the mandarin oranges did come out mushy but that might have been the brand I bought. Be generous with the green onion. Served it over basmati rice with those super thin string beans (never remember their name). As good, if not better than any take-out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States