Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I was disappointed after all the rave reviews. There wasn't much spice to counteract the sweetness, and the texture of the chicken was too soft from absorbing the oils over medium heat. The cashews didn't seem to go well with the orange flavor, and the oranges themselves got too mushy even after just a minute or two over the heat. If I tried it again I'd cook the sauce over low heat, add more orange juice, and add dried chilis (or use chili oil to saute the chicken) for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, the chicken remains really tender and the flavor of the sauce is great. It's not too orangy or too hot. Throw in some frozen broccoli and water chestnuts when you put in the oranges and serve over rice and it becomes a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The recipe was great. We just had it tonight. I had chicken tenders so I chopped them into bite size pieces and omitted the flour, butter, and olive oil. I started by toasting the cashews in the cooking pan with a little bit of butter and then removed them from the pan and completed the rest of the recipe. I also added a dash of red pepper flakes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This recipe has great potential and an impressive presentation but was much too sweet for my taste. I cubed the chicken then sauteed it and added some broccoli at the end cooking until tender crisp and set them aside. I then made the sauce but left out the mandarin oranges until just before serving and added some garlic and red pepper flakes. After the sauce melded I gave it a taste and realized that it was too sweet. I added several tablespoons of chili garlic sauce to add some heat in hopes that it would tone down the sweetness. It certainly helped and my husband and I both ate it however I don't think that this is a meal that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireflyrebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was excellent. I did make a few changes to suit us. I stir fried pea pods, the whole bunch of green onions and a small box of mushrooms, then set aside. After shaking the chicken in a bag with flour I stir fried it and set it aside. After the sauce was made I then added everything back to the pan along with a can of drained, sliced water chestnuts and the cashews. Next time I will double the sauce. The great thing about stir frying is, it is so simple to adapt the recipe to your families taste with your favorite vegetables, etc. This is one of my new favorites. It is quick, delicious and great for company. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I made this recipe almost exactly at stated (minus the cashews because someone had eaten them all when I went to use them grrrr!) I did double the sauce as well as add broccoli. My husband and I thought it was ok. A little on the sweet side. Seemed like it was missing something. However, my 6 and 8 year olds LOVED it. They inhaled their bowls. They wanted it for breakfast the next morning! I wouldn't let them so they had it for lunch and my son finished it off for dinner. Will definitely be making this some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I wish I could give this more stars. My husband, my friend and I LOVED this dish. I cooked it just as directed and added broccoli when I added the chicken back in. I noticed as I stirred the food around that the oranges disintegrated into just orange bits. It was perfect. I used the oranges in water and Splenda intead of in syrup since we are diabetic. Still tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My 1 1/2 year old gobbled it up. I used garlic chives instead of green onions and I used some cornstarch in the end to thicken the sauce. Oh , I used tofu instead of chicken too ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
OK, this was VERY good. With a bit of tweaking I think it will be UNBELIEVABLE. I served it over duck egg noodles--droooooool. My husband and his co-worker (our lucky guest for dinner) both raved about this meal. I doubled everything--you have to when feeding two big men--but used only four large chicken breasts. There was plenty to go around and even leftovers for lunch the next day. When the breasts were almost cooked through I used a spatula to cut them into large chunks...then continued cooking until they were nicely browned. Added a generous amount of freshly ground black pepper. I didn't have any orange juice so I just added the juice the mandarins were canned in. I also didn't have any cashews so used pecans instead. I added a can of sliced water chestnuts for some crunch...might use whole next time. Next time I will definitely use orange juice for the added flavor. And I think cashews (or almonds) are a must for the texture and flavour. Toasted of course. I will add some Chinese 5-Spice and a dash of red pepper flakes when I try this next. With the addition of broccoli and a red pepper this would be complete. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's, without a doubt, going to be a regular at our house. I'm tempted to make this again tonight but I don't have enough hoisin sauce to make a double batch...I wonder if anyone will notices if I don't share and only make enough for myself? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Family liked it. Used 1 cup OJ as some reviewers stated. Made it very orangy. Might lower to 3/4 cup next time. Let it reduce down to a nice sauce that covered the chicken. Didn't have any cashews or green onions but it still worked out. Next time I'm definitely adding onions and bell peppers because I felt it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Canada Flintridge, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States