Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Will definitely make this again. I served this over rice but found the mandarin oranges got mushy if I left it cook too long when I added the chicken back in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Dufour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
So quick to make and SO GOOD! Everytime I prepare this chicken, they ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This recipe was good...but not excellent. I liked all of the flavors together, but like some other reviewers, I didn't really care for the texture. Maybe next time I'll substiture marmalade for the oranges and add some garlic for zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This is my husbands favorite all time dish! It is our "company" dish and I always end up sending the recipe home with them. Very very easy to make. Hardest part is cutting up the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
We really liked this recipe! Pounding the chicken (I cut it into small pieces first) made it so delicate and tender. I added the oranges at the last minute, and did not stir, only heated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This is an easy and flexible recipe that is a staple at my house. I will admit to a few minor changes that you might like to try. My husband and I enjoy saucy dishes over rice, so I cut the chicken up into bite size pieces, then dusted with flour and pan-fried them in the oil with 1 Tsp fresh garlic. I followed the rest of the recipe the same, save for increasing the OJ and Hoisin to 1/2 cup to make more sauce to put over the rice. Chopped peanuts are good when you don't have cashews on hand. I know this alters the recipe somewhat but the basic flavors are still there. The chicken pieces comeout very tender and flavorful and the sauce is tasty without being overwhelming. I think my husband would eat this every day if he had his way and if there are leftovers, they always disappear the next day. Thanks for the great recipe - the best ones are flexible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This recipe is fantastic and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This was OK, my family liked it but it was just ok.NOT THAT GREAT, my children said they liked it but I think they didn't want to hurt my feelings. I tried to tell them it was okay not to like it, I have really nice children, who never want to hurt my feelings but I do believe they lied about this one. I could tell by the look on their faces and the fact that they didn't ask for more, which around here is key when something is liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This was okay...but if I make this recipe again, I will replace the canned mandarin oranges with orange marmalade as per a previous reviewer. I did not like eating oranges with chicken... there really wasn't anything wrong with the taste per se, but textures seemed odd to me. Husband didn't turn thumbs down exactly, but he and I both thought there are better ways to make chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
We love this! As others have suggested, I added a little garlic, an didn't put the oranges in until the very end. Also, I only used 3 breasts and the amount of sauce was just right. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States