Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Made this for a family of 3. It was thick and rich. Added water to thin out but was still very thick like BBQ sauce can be on meat. 2 didn't like it. and 1 loved it:)Interesting change...using chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was quite tasty! The only changes I made was that I didn't flour the chicken first and I doubled the sauce (and used some of the mandarin orange juice). I liked the fact that the oranges broke down and blended into the sauce, it seemed to flow better. Will definitely use again as finding recipes that all 3 kids like is never easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Yuck! Way too much hoisin sauce. I sure won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This was tasty and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKPARSONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is pretty good. We have made it twice and will probably do so every once in a while. I would like to try adding more vegetables (broccoli, carrots, etc) and maybe some garlic next time. I agree that the oranges, green onions and cashews should be added at the very end or sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
What I liked about this recipe was that quick and easy to make. I didn't really care for the taste of it even after I followed other reviewers' advice. My husband on the other hand enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulcemanzana
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
The recipe was OK. Wasn't the greatest. Lacked something in flavor, but will try again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
It was good - really strong, but good. Husband LOVED it (so did the dog who stole the leftovers from the counter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was pretty quick and easy. My kids liked it ok, but the hoison sauce really took over the flavor. I will be adding some orange zest or something to get a more citrus-y tangy flavor, as that is what we were looking for. I served rice and fresh green beans with this. Very tasty and filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was a great, easy orange chicken. Next time I will add the Oranges and Green onions just before serving so they don't get warm. I added minced garlic to the sauce for a bit more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States