Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This chicken was delicious! We added orange marmalade in addition to the mandarin oranges (as others suggested) and this enhanced the thick, slightly chunky texture. The cashews provided a perfect crunch. We added more of everything to make more sauce - we definitely used it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Great recipe! Didn't have the hoisin sauce, so I added curry powder to taste. Left out butter and didn't bother with the extra calories of the flour either. W/o the hoisin sauce it also lowered the sodium of the dish. A healthy, flavorful, quick-prepare meal that keeps well for lunch the next day. Took under 25 minutes including clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My 3 year old requested orange chicken and lemon (thyme) rice also from this site, and I was so pleased how this turned out. Great flavor even with the broccolli and red/green peppers I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
It was good, it was a very strong orange taste so we decide to use some chicken broth to lighten it and served it over a bed of noddles since we were a little sick of rice this week. All and all it was good my kids loved it. Would make it again but would probably cut back on some of the oj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was delicious, though I would have liked a stronger orange flavor - will maybe add orange zest next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was very good, and I didn't change a thing in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I was disappointed after all the rave reviews. There wasn't much spice to counteract the sweetness, and the texture of the chicken was too soft from absorbing the oils over medium heat. The cashews didn't seem to go well with the orange flavor, and the oranges themselves got too mushy even after just a minute or two over the heat. If I tried it again I'd cook the sauce over low heat, add more orange juice, and add dried chilis (or use chili oil to saute the chicken) for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, the chicken remains really tender and the flavor of the sauce is great. It's not too orangy or too hot. Throw in some frozen broccoli and water chestnuts when you put in the oranges and serve over rice and it becomes a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The recipe was great. We just had it tonight. I had chicken tenders so I chopped them into bite size pieces and omitted the flour, butter, and olive oil. I started by toasting the cashews in the cooking pan with a little bit of butter and then removed them from the pan and completed the rest of the recipe. I also added a dash of red pepper flakes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This recipe has great potential and an impressive presentation but was much too sweet for my taste. I cubed the chicken then sauteed it and added some broccoli at the end cooking until tender crisp and set them aside. I then made the sauce but left out the mandarin oranges until just before serving and added some garlic and red pepper flakes. After the sauce melded I gave it a taste and realized that it was too sweet. I added several tablespoons of chili garlic sauce to add some heat in hopes that it would tone down the sweetness. It certainly helped and my husband and I both ate it however I don't think that this is a meal that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireflyrebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States