Mandarin Orange Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I had this recipe back when I was in college but lost it. I was so happy to find a similar one in this recipe. I make it without the nuts and coconut and it's always a hit at parties. People are now making requests for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. kids would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Pretty good; I didn't have the nuts the recipe called for or the amount so I used about 3 oz. of pecans and they tasted great together. I also cut up a peach and put it on top and that was good too. The only thing I don't really like about the cake is how moist/soggy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
My family loved this cake! It's quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I made this healthier by using white whole wheat flour and cutting the sugar a little. I used pineapple instead of oranges. It's what I had on hand. I put the icing on as soon as the cake came out. Then, put it under the broiler 6 in. from heat for 3-4 min. until toasty brown. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I liked making this cake because it was very easy and quick. I agree with everyone else that it doesn't taste much like oranges, but my friends and I enjoyed the sugary topping and overall it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
OMG!!!!!!! This cake really caught me by surprise,it is delicious! If you have not tried this recipe, you are missing out on a real treat. this is a recipe that I will keep. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is a nice easy and quick recipe. At first I couldn't believe there was no butter in the batter. But then I realized the more I mix it, the more liquid it becomes because the mandarin oranges becomes flakes. You don't taste the orange, but it is a light and refreshing cake. If you are looing for something not overly sweet and can stand alone without a glob of icing on top, this is a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I followed the directions perfectly, and then when it was finished baking, I put a cake tester in it and it cake out with all this stuff on it... so, I put the cake back in the oven and it wound up baking for another half hour. But when I toook it out and tried to flip it, it wouldn't flip, so I then decided to loosen the sides and it finally did flip, but when it finally flipped, I found out that the bottom was a sticky substance and stuck to the bottom, not allowing the cake to filp. So, I then cleaned out my pan, and re-greased it. I put the mixture back in and tried to let it re-bake. It turned out weird again and I finally decided to give up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I made this yesterday and it's almost gone! My husband said, "I can't stay away from this cake!" ...and this from a man who doesn't like desserts without chocolate. I didn't have coconut and didn't feel like using nuts so I made it without. The frosting really makes this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States