Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use Mandarin Oranges because I LOVE them--couldn't really taste them in this cake at all. It was more about the pineapple topping. I could add orange flavoring, but...kind of misses the point and I don't have any anyhow! I beat the whipped topping instead of folding it and pouring the sloupy mess on a ROUND cake was an experience. (Oh, dear...) If I made this recipe again I would know better how to make it work, buuuut...I probably never will. I'm sure if done right, this could be a great cake. But it just didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KooshMuffin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
LOVE this CAKE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
loved it....i added a box of vanilla pudding mix and a box of orange jello, 1 and a half cups milk and decreased the oil to 1/2 a cup...kept the 4 eggs...it was moist and yummy!...great cake, this will be refreshing for my 4th of july party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Schwarzott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I love the iceing but how do you keep it from running or being so runny. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have made this several times for my family and they love it. It works especially well for those in my family with hypoglycemia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My family loved this recipe for our Thanksgiving and Christmas Dinners. Everyone is asking me for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Kinda disappointed in this cake. The topping was wonderful, however; the cake had no orange flavor whatsoever! It was very moist, but didn't taste any different than your regular boxed yellow cake. Next time I will try adding some orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We had this cake with our Christmas dinner. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyce
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have been making this cake for the last 6 years now. My bf shared his recipe with me. We use 1 box of DH yellow cake mix, 3 eggs, 1 stick of butter, 1 (11 0z) can of mandarin oranges with juice and 1 tsp vanilla as the cake batter. Mix well with a blender. Pour into 2 9'' greased cake pans. For the topping We use 1 Large tub and 1 smaller tub of Cool Whip, 1 Large box instant vanilla pudding mix, 1 Tsp vanilla, and 1 (20oz) can crushed pineapple without the juice. We reserve the juice and add a few tablespooons as needed for the topping. I just stir all the topping ingrediends with a large spoon. Let is set up for about 10 minutes prior to frosting the cake. It turns out very moist, flavorful, and light everytime! If you have not tried this cake yet then we highly recommend it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great Cake...but make it a day ahead of time and put in the refrigerator...flavor blend and cake is even more moist. I use 3/4 cup of oil and 1 tsp orange extract in the cake batter...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States