Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I love, love, love this one. I will try crushed pineapple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Attalla, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Easy to make and very tasty! I have taken this cake to several potlucks and it doesn't last long! It might could use some more orange extract to be a little more orangy flavored - but it is very good the way it is here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
It was ok, just a slight hint of orange. I could have used more orange and in the future I'll be buying some orange flavoring and adding it to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was pretty good, next time I will add the juice from the mandarin oranges, mix, then fold in the pieces. Mixing them in at the same time incorporates it into the batter, and you can't taste it. Also mix the pudding into the pineapple before adding it to the whipped topping. I made fresh sweetened whipped cream and used that instead of the frozen whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
So amazing! Maded this for Mother's Day and everyone loved it. Even my brother who doesn't like sweets ate 2 slices! I added 1 extra can of mandarin oranges, drained, a splash of vanilla, and a splash of orange extract to the batter. I also drained the pineapple and mixed it with the pudding, then added the juice back until I liked the texture. Best cake I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
NOT THAT GREAT - JUST OK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
So good! My kids loved it. Will make for a teacher luncheon at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use Mandarin Oranges because I LOVE them--couldn't really taste them in this cake at all. It was more about the pineapple topping. I could add orange flavoring, but...kind of misses the point and I don't have any anyhow! I beat the whipped topping instead of folding it and pouring the sloupy mess on a ROUND cake was an experience. (Oh, dear...) If I made this recipe again I would know better how to make it work, buuuut...I probably never will. I'm sure if done right, this could be a great cake. But it just didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KooshMuffin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
LOVE this CAKE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
loved it....i added a box of vanilla pudding mix and a box of orange jello, 1 and a half cups milk and decreased the oil to 1/2 a cup...kept the 4 eggs...it was moist and yummy!...great cake, this will be refreshing for my 4th of july party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States