Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Used light mandarin oranges in JUICE (not syrup), use fat free topping, fat free-sugar free pudding. Best served chilled. Light flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I have made this cake so many times. I met this lady in the resale store and we talked about baking. I mentioned this cake and she ask me to make her one. She paid me $20 for a 13x9x2 inch cake. Three days later she ordered another cake ,except she wanted it to be double the 13x9x2 pan. She paid me $40. She has ordered over 7 of this cake. My neighbor's mom died last week and I made her a super large Mandarin Orange Cake for the dinner. Her family came and told me how great this cake was. She ordered a 13x9x2 Mandarin cake for New Years eve. I added mandarin oranges and ripe canned mangoes to the batter with a squirt of lemon extract. For the frosting, I used banana instant pudding for a new taste. After I frost the cake, I put pineapple rings around the cake. It was beautiful. I also used 12 oz. cool whipped topping. I know that I will be making more of this cake. My neighbor and the lady I met at the resale store said that this cake reminded them of Tres Leches cake. This cake is like Tony the Tiger Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
My husband calls this Pig Lickin Good cake. It was quite delicious and everyone loved it. Kids and adults alike. I used an orange cake mix. I also added a few oranges to the frosting and garnished with mandarin orange slices and maraschino cherries. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
The is best made as 3 layer cake. Change up in cake ingred. 1 stick of butter and 1/2 cup oil for cake. Frosting 3 1/2 instant van. pudding, 1/2 c. powdered sugar, 1 can crushed pineapple with juice. Mix. Let set a few min. Fold in cool whip and coconut. Spread on layers, then whole cake, refrig. The frosting soaks a bit into the layers and I promise people will rave! Ellen's version should be good too and takes less time. But the three layers makes such a pretty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have made this cake for years and always use a orange or lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is a good basic "I'm in a hurry, need a dessert" type of recipe. It has nice texture and the taste is good. When I made this exactly as the recipe stated I felt the cake was something I would be pleased to share with guests but nothing memorable. I then made the cake, trying for a richer, less artificial taste. I drained the oranges and replaced that cup of liquid with orange juice, used a duncan hines orange cake mix, used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup melted butter and mixed in a 1/2 cup of sour cream. For the topping, I mixed the pineapple with the pudding mix and set aside. Creamed 8 oz. of cream cheese with 1/2 cup of sugar until smooth, added 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and beat until stiff peaks formed. Folded the pudding and cream cheese mixture together and frosted the cake. I was much happier with the flavor, texture and even the presentation of the cake. Thanks for a good basic recipe that I could be creative with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksbouver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This cake is sooo moist. Like others, I cut oil to 1/2 cup and used 3 eggs. Also added about 1/2 cup shredded coconut to the topping. It makes a TON of topping - might try using only 1/2 an 8 oz. tub of Cool Whip. Whatever amount you use, this cake is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Delicious!!! Used sugar-free cake mix and pudding. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Very good! My mom made this when I was a child. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This cake was delicious!! It's very light, flavorful and easy to make. Like others, I didn't want to use a cup of oil, so I only used 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup applesauce and it came out super moist. I squeezed half an orange in the batter as well to enhance the orange flavor but it didn't do any good. The best part was the topping, so yummy!! As the cake was cooling, I put the topping in the fridge to help solidify it, and then after it cooled and I added the topping, I put the whole cake into the fridge to set a little longer. It came out perfect! Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States