Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I've made this cake numerous times and the best responses I received from guests was when I: -added one less egg -used 1 cup of apple sauce instead of oil -used 1/3 less fat whip cream. Try it and you'll love it even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This cake is delicious! I accidentally threw the juice from the oranges away so I added a splash of water to the cake batter and it still came out perfectly. Very moist cake with a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Wonderful recipe and loved by all that tried it today! I used a Duncan Hines Pineapple Supreme cake instead of a yellow cake and a cup of orange-pineapple yogurt instead of the oil. The cake came out denser and extremely moist. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
DELISH! SiMPLE to make and was a hit at the baby shower! I used two 9 in round cake pans and reduced the cook time a bit. Put some of the filling between the layers and chilled overnight.... perfect spring time cake! very refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made this on 4-27-10. I was very easy to make, BUT I did'nt know that once you you make the frosting. In order to keep it fresh tasting. I goes in the fridge. Thank You, Ellen It's Yum-O !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by decaf 1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I wanted to make cupcakes for my little guy to take to daycare for his 2nd birthday. He loves mandarin oranges and pineapple so I decided to try this recipe. Yum! I made a couple slight changes. I used D.H. Pineapple Supreme cake mix which I would recommend. I also ran out of oil so I ended up using 1/2c oil and 1/2c applesauce, which worked out fine. Next time I will try all applesauce to cut down on the fat. I also followed the suggestions of other reviewers and mixed the pudding mix with the pineapple and let it sit for a minute before folding it into the whipped cream. Cooking time for the cupcakes turned out to be 22-24 min. at 350. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Hmmmm, not very impressed w/this version. The cake itself is very greasy altho tasty-I'd definately cut back on the oil if I were to make this again. Following the directions to a "t", I "beat" the frosting ingredients, only to have a soupy mess. I refrigerated it for 4 hrs-still soupy, so I tried to save it by folding in another container of cool whip. It was useless-still too runny to spread on the cake. Tossed it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Made this for a friends birthday and it was a huge hit. Passed the recipe on to several ladies, one who made this the next day for her church group. They also loved it and she passes the recipe on to them. I'm sure this recipes is still being passed on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILAPPLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I have made this cake many times - it is not necessary to use this much oil. You can easily cut it to 1/2 cup and you can also eliminate one egg without a noticeable difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as described. It wasn't fine but it's just not the type I prefer to make. The cake turns out oily and sweet. And the frosting is a bit too runny to retain its shape once it's been spread. It's fine if you leave the cake in the baking pan, but if you want a nicer presentation the frosting recipe has to be thickened/stiffened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States