Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Iv made this cake twice first time as written second time with my tweaks!This was a Good cake But i thought it was a bit bland The Mandarin orange flavor really didnt come through unfortunately. I decided to play around with the recipe and add a half of box of orange jello! Loved it!!! Worked perfect gave it just enough orange flavor without being to much! Also the second time i made this cake i made it in a bundt pan an topped it with a citrus glaze Turned out pretty yummy! But i do prefer it with the original recipes topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
moist and tasty. It doesn't even need the frosting. A little whipped topping will do. great for hot summer evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
So easy to make. I love it! I made one for my neighbors that have 6 kids and they were at my door with the washed dish asking for the recipe! Also try it with orange supreme cake mix!! KUDOS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Oxford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelsey Leigh
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is the best cake ever!!! I took someone else's advice by adding more oranges and like 2-3 tablespoons of orange extract. I kept tasting the batter until I could actually taste the orange flavor. I made this into an 8" round icecream cake using bluebell vanilla ice cream as the middle layer. And as someone else mentioned, I couldn't stop eating the pineapple frosting! This cake is phenomenal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Every time I make this I adjust something - either to make less gooey and more cakey or more gooey and less cakey. No matter, every way I love it and get requests for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This recipe was great, quick and easy! I added a few things per our liking. I used 1/3 OJ and 2/3 oil for the 1 cup the recipe called for. I also used the 11 oz can of mandarin oranges with juice and added orange gelatin and orange zest to the cake batter. I also chose the lemon cake as with all my orange recipes, I find this brings out the orange flavor the best and makes it taste from scratch. (The gelatin works nice in many cake recipes I use for great flavor and added moisture)My children didn't like the folded in orange chunks as some reviews recommended and they tend to settle as it cooks. I blended them in and it was much better. I use the 11 oz can of mandarin oranges and the 20 oz can of crushed pineapples with juice and mix with the pudding using a mixer to break down the oranges a little bit. I then fold in the whip cream. I also make my frosting immediately after I put the cake in the oven and place it in the refrigerator as it firms up a lot this way without having to discard the juices and flavors from the fruit cans. I agree with some viewers as this cake gets better the longer it sits (which is hard to imagine)! My husband and kids made me make this two days in a row...lol! Fabulous family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Sooo good! I followed Renee's suggestion and added 1 teaspoon of orange extract and cut the oil down to 3/4 cup. I made it the day before and refrigerated it overnight. Everyone loved it. It was the perfect ending to our luncheon...sweet and satisfying without being heavy. The topping is so good. I had several requests for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Did not need to use 1 cup of oil, followed directions on box for 1/3 cup of oil and the cake was perfectly moist. Also omitted 1 of the 4 eggs. It made for a lighter and delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Made this just as you said. It was so light and fluffy. Delicious and enjoyed by all. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
love this recipe. I've made it for years. Always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States