Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is my favorite cake. As someone who doesn't care too much for sweets, I could eat the topping all by itself! And this cake is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I liked this a lot...made it for a birthday cake. The cake is very moist and I loved the topping. Nice alternative to the usual yellow/chocolate butter cream cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Okay, so my stomach kinda turned as I was pouring in a whole cup of oil, but it really made it moist. I added about a cup or so of orange juice too, but the crushed pineapple and whipped cream overpower the orange flavor. Nonetheless, the cake was really good. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Love it! Made it from fresh squeezed orange juice from my tree and put three mandarin oranges in a windmill shape with a dot of whipped cream in the middle for my mom's birthday. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is good, what's not to like about cake and a yummy topping? But my problem with this cake, thus the reason for 4 stars, is that it doesn't have an orange flavor. I replaced the mandarin orange liquid, with straight orange juice and added 2 teas. of orange extract, and I still couldn't taste an orange flavor. I might as well of saved myself some money and omitted the mandarin oranges and extract, and just made the cake mix as is. I reduced oil to 1/2 cup. It tastes great, but that is because the topping is so good. Also, the topping isn't thick, so if you want a thicker icing, I would drain some of the liquid from the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This cake is so very good! I added an extra can of oranges (minus the juice) and some vanilla to the cake batter and used fresh whipped cream, rather than cool whip. I mixed the pineapple with the pudding mix and then stirred that into the fresh whipped cream. The topping came out super thick, rich, and delicious (and yes I used the juice from the can of crushed pineapple). Super moist cake. Simply yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
We've used this recipe for at least thirty years, which was given to us by an aunt. It's always been a favorite, even used for wedding cakes when my mom and sister had a cake business. It brings back many good memories, and is always a big hit at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I have made this cake in the past and it is fabulous! Even as a borderline chocoholic, I requested THIS for my wedding cake. It is moist and tender and fluffy and you just have to try it. A word of caution, though. You must use restraint before shoveling in too much and ruining the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Scrumptous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States