Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This cake was delicious!! It's very light, flavorful and easy to make. Like others, I didn't want to use a cup of oil, so I only used 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup applesauce and it came out super moist. I squeezed half an orange in the batter as well to enhance the orange flavor but it didn't do any good. The best part was the topping, so yummy!! As the cake was cooling, I put the topping in the fridge to help solidify it, and then after it cooled and I added the topping, I put the whole cake into the fridge to set a little longer. It came out perfect! Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is such a refreshing change from heavy, chocolate desserts. I love it!! Made it exactly as written, but added orange extract to the cake batter. I also didn't use the entire tub of whipped topping. Topped it immediately before taking to a potluck. Wish I would have topped it sooner, the topping sets up nicely, and the leftovers were better after it had chilled and set up some. Wonderful cake and I will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was simple to make and very refreshing and light. I did add some orange liquor to the cake mix. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was my mom's favorite cake, I use to have to make 2 of these cakes for my mom in the nursing home so she could share it with all the residents and nurses...it's a 5 star cake....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
So fresh and delicious! I made it as written the first time and it was very good. But on my second cake, I reduced the oil to 3/4 cup, added a tsp. of orange extract and a bit of orange zest and it was much better! On my third try I eliminated the oil all together and added 1 cup of apple sauce instead. Super yummy and a lot healthier as a bonus (plus less calories - a HUGE bonus!). The apple sauce fits right in with the fruity quality of this cake and makes it super moist too. So I've made it three different ways now and it was excellent in its own way each time. (Oh, and I don't use Cool Whip for the frosting - can't stand the taste - just a personal preference - so I use real whipped cream or Dream Whip.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I grew up on this cake except our family called it Pig Pickin Cake. The only difference in recipe is that we add 6 tbsp of cocoa to the frosting. YUM! What a refreshing cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is the BOMB! I make it in a Bundt pan, add a tablespoon of orange zest, Grand Marnier instead of juice and real whipped cream instead of topping...blows the guests in my restaurant away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
making this today for my mother-in-laws 95th birthday. She request it every year for her birthday and holidays. I used dunki n heinz sugar free white cake mix, sugar free fruit, and, sugar free coconut cream pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Delicious and refreshing summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States