Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The best Mandarin cake ever!!!! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thodupuzha, Kerala, India
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I'm giving two stars because I followed the recipe exactly and the topping is entirely runny. I don't know why?! Tastes good but looks nothing like the picture (where the topping stays on the cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Yum! Refreshing and very tasty. It did not last long at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
My family did not like this cake at all. It did not have enough flavor and it was too bad that the recipe calls for you to blend the oranges till smooth....It would have been better with some texture (I think). I made it because my daughter LOVES manderin oranges. She took a bite and hated this cake......She was SOOO looking forward to having this cake...In our family this was a "Total Miss" !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I've been making this wonderful cake for many years. I refrigerate mine and I always make the cake the day before serving. The colder, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This cake is great! the first time I had it my 12 year old niece had made it. Its easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daphne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Saint Robert, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I made this a few years ago, and my brother loved it so much that he used to make it on a regular (weekly/biweekly) basis! Everyone in my family loves this; this is the only cake I can say I love eating. My Dad saw me baking his Father's Day cake, which WASN'T this one, and said "That cake your brother makes is really good..that orange one." Well I couldn't start over and now I know just to make this one always. It's moist but not too sweet, and the topping makes is soo good. The topping is even better than other whipped toppings that include cream cheese. If you're looking for a fruity cake, THIS IS IT. My brother, the Mandarin Orange Cake Lover, recently became a father so I baked him this cake without using the box mix--big mistake! Follow the recipes as is and it will be great. My family is very picky but this one is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
me and my friend experimented with this and used pineapple supreme cake mix with mandarin oranges in it. we then used cheescake pudding for the icing with coconut slivers, pineapple, mandarin oranges and marshmallows! it was a sweet addition to a great cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
The best cake I've ever made! I made the following changes based on the other reviews: 1) I used only 3 eggs, and 2) I drained the juice from the pineapple, and just mixed the frosting ingredients lightly with a spoon, not beat them. It was the perfect consistency that way. I liked this cake because it was nice and light (I used Betty Crocker Super Moist Yellow for the mix)...doesn't really have much orange flavor, though. Next time I might add orange extract or orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
So this was pretty good, but I did drain the syrup that the oranges came in and subbed 1/3 cup orange juice to liven up the orange flavor. I also only used half of the 20 oz. can of pineapple, because I thought it would be too much. I was right--half the can was perfect for my tastes. This was SUPER moist! Everyone commented on how moist it was, and it may have been the most moist cake I've ever eaten. Thanks, Ellen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States