Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This cake is great! the first time I had it my 12 year old niece had made it. Its easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daphne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Saint Robert, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I made this a few years ago, and my brother loved it so much that he used to make it on a regular (weekly/biweekly) basis! Everyone in my family loves this; this is the only cake I can say I love eating. My Dad saw me baking his Father's Day cake, which WASN'T this one, and said "That cake your brother makes is really good..that orange one." Well I couldn't start over and now I know just to make this one always. It's moist but not too sweet, and the topping makes is soo good. The topping is even better than other whipped toppings that include cream cheese. If you're looking for a fruity cake, THIS IS IT. My brother, the Mandarin Orange Cake Lover, recently became a father so I baked him this cake without using the box mix--big mistake! Follow the recipes as is and it will be great. My family is very picky but this one is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
me and my friend experimented with this and used pineapple supreme cake mix with mandarin oranges in it. we then used cheescake pudding for the icing with coconut slivers, pineapple, mandarin oranges and marshmallows! it was a sweet addition to a great cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
The best cake I've ever made! I made the following changes based on the other reviews: 1) I used only 3 eggs, and 2) I drained the juice from the pineapple, and just mixed the frosting ingredients lightly with a spoon, not beat them. It was the perfect consistency that way. I liked this cake because it was nice and light (I used Betty Crocker Super Moist Yellow for the mix)...doesn't really have much orange flavor, though. Next time I might add orange extract or orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
So this was pretty good, but I did drain the syrup that the oranges came in and subbed 1/3 cup orange juice to liven up the orange flavor. I also only used half of the 20 oz. can of pineapple, because I thought it would be too much. I was right--half the can was perfect for my tastes. This was SUPER moist! Everyone commented on how moist it was, and it may have been the most moist cake I've ever eaten. Thanks, Ellen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
very delicious! i made this for my husband's birthday since he loves oranges. i actually made mini loaves and it was perfect. quick and easy to make. was also very moist and soft. i plan on making this again for his next birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seabeck, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I was rather disappointed with this cake. I saw that the recipe had a lot of high ratings, so I decided to make it for my grandma's birthday. I followed the recipe exactly. However, I might as well have made a premade yellow cake. It didn't taste like anything more than that to me, and I was expecting to have more than just a premade cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I've made this cake numerous times and the best responses I received from guests was when I: -added one less egg -used 1 cup of apple sauce instead of oil -used 1/3 less fat whip cream. Try it and you'll love it even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This cake is delicious! I accidentally threw the juice from the oranges away so I added a splash of water to the cake batter and it still came out perfectly. Very moist cake with a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Wonderful recipe and loved by all that tried it today! I used a Duncan Hines Pineapple Supreme cake instead of a yellow cake and a cup of orange-pineapple yogurt instead of the oil. The cake came out denser and extremely moist. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States