Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
My mom has been making this recipe since I was a baby, it's my favorite cake!! Although she has always used lemon pudding to mix with the cool whip. It makes it 100 times better, much much more flavor. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa D. Moody
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is WONDERFUL!!! As someone who purchased 3lbs of the fresh Mandarin Oranges I was searching for a way to use them.... AND I absolutely LOVE oranges so I made this and was very pleased. I used about 10 of the fresh Oranges instead of the canned and they made the cake taste extra fresh. Thanks so much, this one is a Keeper and is going into my personal "Portfolio" of "Specialties" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D. Moody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Love my version of this. I use Pineapple cake mix. I add chopped pecans and sometimes fresh coconut into the whipped topping. Note, this cake must stay refrigerated but tastes best if served almost room temperature. A favorite every time I make it! Attractive, moist and a refreshing change from other cakes. Looks like you went to a lot of trouble but it is so easy! We call it Fool's Cake though I don't remember why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Iv made this cake twice first time as written second time with my tweaks!This was a Good cake But i thought it was a bit bland The Mandarin orange flavor really didnt come through unfortunately. I decided to play around with the recipe and add a half of box of orange jello! Loved it!!! Worked perfect gave it just enough orange flavor without being to much! Also the second time i made this cake i made it in a bundt pan an topped it with a citrus glaze Turned out pretty yummy! But i do prefer it with the original recipes topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
moist and tasty. It doesn't even need the frosting. A little whipped topping will do. great for hot summer evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
So easy to make. I love it! I made one for my neighbors that have 6 kids and they were at my door with the washed dish asking for the recipe! Also try it with orange supreme cake mix!! KUDOS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Oxford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelsey Leigh
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is the best cake ever!!! I took someone else's advice by adding more oranges and like 2-3 tablespoons of orange extract. I kept tasting the batter until I could actually taste the orange flavor. I made this into an 8" round icecream cake using bluebell vanilla ice cream as the middle layer. And as someone else mentioned, I couldn't stop eating the pineapple frosting! This cake is phenomenal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Every time I make this I adjust something - either to make less gooey and more cakey or more gooey and less cakey. No matter, every way I love it and get requests for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This recipe was great, quick and easy! I added a few things per our liking. I used 1/3 OJ and 2/3 oil for the 1 cup the recipe called for. I also used the 11 oz can of mandarin oranges with juice and added orange gelatin and orange zest to the cake batter. I also chose the lemon cake as with all my orange recipes, I find this brings out the orange flavor the best and makes it taste from scratch. (The gelatin works nice in many cake recipes I use for great flavor and added moisture)My children didn't like the folded in orange chunks as some reviews recommended and they tend to settle as it cooks. I blended them in and it was much better. I use the 11 oz can of mandarin oranges and the 20 oz can of crushed pineapples with juice and mix with the pudding using a mixer to break down the oranges a little bit. I then fold in the whip cream. I also make my frosting immediately after I put the cake in the oven and place it in the refrigerator as it firms up a lot this way without having to discard the juices and flavors from the fruit cans. I agree with some viewers as this cake gets better the longer it sits (which is hard to imagine)! My husband and kids made me make this two days in a row...lol! Fabulous family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Sooo good! I followed Renee's suggestion and added 1 teaspoon of orange extract and cut the oil down to 3/4 cup. I made it the day before and refrigerated it overnight. Everyone loved it. It was the perfect ending to our luncheon...sweet and satisfying without being heavy. The topping is so good. I had several requests for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States