Mandarin Chicken Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I was trying to find a similar recipe that my mom used to make, this one fit pretty well. Though, I did change a few things. I left out the bouillon and added between 2-3 tablespoons of hoisin sauce (I love that stuff) to give it a little more flavor. It's great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Well, i was in a huge hurry, so I used this recipe as a guide. I did not really measure anything but the liquid ingredients...which I increased due to other reviews. I used o.j. that was already made which made it less sweet. (my family turns their noses up at things too sweet with meat in them) I for got the green onions..darn! I did add about a 1/2 tsp or more red pepper for a bit of a bite and I cooked the chicken with a good heaping tsp of minced garlic. I did make the mistake of adding the oranges too early & they broke apart. Iwould have liked themn whole but the fam. liked it that they wer undistingishable. I will keepthis one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This dish was wonderful - only next time I'll omit the broccoli, as it combined with the orange flavouring just didn't go well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I changed a bunch of things, and my family LOVED it! Here's what I did: - Doubled the sauce - Used more (2 sm. bunches) broccoli - Omitted mushrooms (I just didn't have any) - Omitted green onions - Served over brown rice (yummy!) - The best thing I did: served it with freshly toasted sliced almonds - YUM! I had them in a small bowl and everyone sprinkled on as much as they wanted. I highly recommend them! They added a nice nutty crunch. Next time, I will either use less bouillion or a lower sodium variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
We really liked the combination of most things in this recipe even though my hubby and I thought the orange flavor was a little strong. That being said...I used orange juice instead of the water and concentrate, and I do believe the concentrate would have made it less citrusy and more sweet. I added garlic to the mushrooms. When I try this again I may use cream instead of the OJ. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Very good and very easy. Doubled broccoli & mushrooms, used 1 1/2 lbs. chicken, cooked mushrooms more than recipe said & had to add more butter to pan when mushrooms were done. Wisked flour w/melted butter before adding 1 cup OJ(skipped concentrate & water).Added onions and broccoli same time as chick & rooms. Waited until very end to add two cans of Man. oranges (already at room temp). Just mixed & served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Easy and quick recipe for a change in chicken preparation. Instead of using the 1/3 cup of OJ concentrate and 2/3 cup water I used orange juice 100% -- and also added the drained juice from the mandarin oranges. A bit more sauce would have been desired. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Didn't care for this recipe. I put the oranges in at the last minute, but they still turned to mush. I think this dish needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
It was okay...nothing really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Excellent flavor, not to sweet, just different enough to make it special. I don't ever use bullion cubes (MSG) so I used 2 packages of Lipton Cup-a-Soup Cream of chicken instead of the cubes and left out the flour. Take the advice of others, add the can of orange segments at the very end of the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States