Mandarin Chicken Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Just made this for dinner. Delicious. I used vegetable bouillon because that's what I had. I also used a half of a yellow onion and sub'd the water and oj concentrate for one cup of reg oj because I only had those on hand. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Although this was an easy recipe, I felt it need a bit more flavor. The flavors were just too mild for my taste. It was ok, not great. The chicken didn't seem to pick up any of the flavor, Maybe season the chicken before cooking. I served it over rice. It was a very attractive dish. I really rate it 3 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. It was easy and quick to prepare, but not as good as other mandarin chicken or beef I've made. I feel that the addition of canned mandarin orange slices detracted from the dish a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Horton
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I really did not like this recipe. My family ate it but didn't seem to enjoy it. I omitted the mushrooms and used 1/3 cup of juice from oranges since I did not have any orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was good, not great. The sauce didn't have much flavor. I sauteed in olive oil, instead of butter. I used cornstarch instead of flour (as some reviewers suggested). Served it over rice. I will make this again with some additions to make it more flavorful. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This turned out better than I had expected. Of course I changed a few things (as I do with all recipes)but the base recipe was yummy! I added ground red pepper to my chicken as it sauteed in olive oil, not butter. I sauteed my onion and mushroom before adding the fresh broccoli-raw. Then started on the sauce. I put in about 1/2 tblsp of soy sauce. Served over basmati rice. Will make again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OzsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I gave it 3 stars just because it was way too citrusy for me. Next time I'll cut the OJ to half and maybe add some water chesnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very good. I was looking for something to use up my supply of Christmas oranges, and this did the trick. Instead of OJ concentrate, I just squeezed two Christmas oranges. Didn't do the mushrooms (allergy) or onions (didn't have any). Overall a good recipe. Would be great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was definitely something different. I am forever looking for new ideas for chicken, because it gets so boring. However, I feel like it was lacking something... I did not use flour. Rather, I used cornstarch (as another user suggested). I just kept adding it until it was the texture I pictured it should be (about 2 tsp). Also, to cut back on the high sodium, I only used 1/2 of a bullion cube, and it tasted fine. I did half OJ concentrate and 1/2 water instead of the measurements provided. It made the orange flavor a little stronger. I also added about a tsp of sugar. I only made 1 1/2 lbs of chicken instead of 2, and increased the broccoli and mushrooms. It made more than enough for my husband, my daughter, and I. I served it over whole grain brown rice to make it a little healthier too. I will probably try this one again...when I am out of ideas. It's easy enough to be a back-up recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklyn_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I was trying to find a similar recipe that my mom used to make, this one fit pretty well. Though, I did change a few things. I left out the bouillon and added between 2-3 tablespoons of hoisin sauce (I love that stuff) to give it a little more flavor. It's great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States