Mandarin Chicken Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
We both enjoyed this dish, over rice as others suggested. It is very colorful and would be nice enough for a casual company meal. Easy to do some of the steps ahead (cook the chicken, broccoli, etc) so there is little to do at the last minute. Heed the advice of a previous reviewer: don't cook the mandarin oranges. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I changed a bunch of things, and my family LOVED it! Here's what I did: - Doubled the sauce - Used more (2 sm. bunches) broccoli - Omitted mushrooms (I just didn't have any) - Omitted green onions - Served over brown rice (yummy!) - The best thing I did: served it with freshly toasted sliced almonds - YUM! I had them in a small bowl and everyone sprinkled on as much as they wanted. I highly recommend them! They added a nice nutty crunch. Next time, I will either use less bouillion or a lower sodium variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
Tastes great served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
My husband really enjoyed it. Keeps asking when will I make it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This is one of my all time favorite recipes. I make it at least once a month!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Just finished dinner, with this recipe served over jasmine rice -- we loved it! My husband, and four- and two-year-old sons both devoured it. I used 2tsp of cornstarch in place of the flour, and half the amount of scallions. I didn't have OJ concentrate, so I subsituted 1/2 the water with regular orange juice. Made a wonderful sauce that was perfect atop white rice. I recommend adding the mandarins just prior to serving -- I cooked them too long, and they disintegrated. No added salt is needed, as the bullion cubes provide more than enough. This recipe would work really well with beef or shrimp, as well. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Just made this for the family tonight, and it was delicious. I'm adding it to my list of regular meals. My only problem is with prep time. It certainly takes longer than 10 minutes to clean and slice the mushrooms and green onions, plus rinse and cube two pounds of chicken (don't really need two pounds, by the way). Quantity of sauce is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Very good and very easy. Doubled broccoli & mushrooms, used 1 1/2 lbs. chicken, cooked mushrooms more than recipe said & had to add more butter to pan when mushrooms were done. Wisked flour w/melted butter before adding 1 cup OJ(skipped concentrate & water).Added onions and broccoli same time as chick & rooms. Waited until very end to add two cans of Man. oranges (already at room temp). Just mixed & served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Well, i was in a huge hurry, so I used this recipe as a guide. I did not really measure anything but the liquid ingredients...which I increased due to other reviews. I used o.j. that was already made which made it less sweet. (my family turns their noses up at things too sweet with meat in them) I for got the green onions..darn! I did add about a 1/2 tsp or more red pepper for a bit of a bite and I cooked the chicken with a good heaping tsp of minced garlic. I did make the mistake of adding the oranges too early & they broke apart. Iwould have liked themn whole but the fam. liked it that they wer undistingishable. I will keepthis one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Just made this for dinner. Delicious. I used vegetable bouillon because that's what I had. I also used a half of a yellow onion and sub'd the water and oj concentrate for one cup of reg oj because I only had those on hand. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States