Mandarin Chicken Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was interesting and enjoyable! I doubled the sauce and it was just enough (barely). I added a can of mandarin oranges at the end to give the dish some more freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Great and simple recipe. As suggested by someone else I added aprox 1 tsp of cornstarch dissolved in water at the end of the cook time to make a thicker sauce. Other than that, followed the recipe to a T. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I was a little bit wary of the jelly bean idea, but this turned out wonderful. I used ten large jelly beans, but once the outside was dissolved in the sauce, I took them out, because I thought the extra sugar wasn't really needed. I like a thicker sauce, so I added a tsp of cornstarch dissolved in a tablespoon of water after the sauce was almost done simmering. We like things spicy, so I doubled the red pepper. I also doubled the sauce, as some of the other reviewers suggested, and I still wanted more! Next time I'll triple it :) A very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe- the second time. I only say that because all the ingredients are not cheap- but great tasting chicken and once you have all the oils you're set! Love the jelly bean part! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This is not as orange tasting as I had hoped even though I used the jellybelly jelly beans and left them in the sauce as another reviewer suggested. I also agree with everyone else....double up on the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This unique dish turned out really good! I did do some different things, but didn't change the recipe really. 1. I decided to double the sauce like other reviewers suggested (good call). 2. I used 15 small orange jelly beans (Starburst kind). 3. I tenderized my chicken breasts before cooking and used an electric frying pan which I used again for the sauce to save on clean up. 4. I used finely chopped white onion instead of green. 5. I didn't take the jelly beans out and didn't garnish with any more either. 6. Didn't have any ginger root, so I sprinkled in some ground ginger. If you don't have any jelly beans, I'm sure orange marmalade would work out too, maybe even try lemon or lime jelly beans? It was a bit spicy, so if you have kids who wouldn't go for that, reduce or omit the crushed pepper and ginger. I served this with rice and sweet potatoes for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Great recipe. My husband will never order any kind of orange chicken, but he loved this. I cut the chicken into strips and coated with flour before cooking. Also, I didn't have any jelly beans so I used 1 tablespoon of orange marmalade instead. I also added sugar snap peas and garnished with mandarin oranges. I also took the advice of the previous reviewer and doubled the sauce. This went great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
Great sauce, but I wanted more of it! Next time I will double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States