Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe directs, and it is wonderful, tasty, colorful and healthy. I will make it again. Be sure to use a BIG bowl, as makes a lot of salad! I had to transfer it to a larger bowl when I first starting combining the ingredients. The next time I might cut back to 1/2 teaspoon of sesame oil (it was a tad strong to me), add slightly more garlic and ginger (if you have leftovers, the water in the cucumbers, etc. will dilute the dressing a bit if it sits over night). I would even consider omitting or reducing the pasta, just to make it a lower-carb meal. And someone suggesting trying shrimp instead of chicken, and that would work, too! But this is a wonderful salad, as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I just made this and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I am alergic to MSG, so, I switch out the onion soup mix for a miso soup NO MSG, adds the Asian feel, taste and is lower in calories. I just blend it in my mixer, with a bit more minced ginger and 1/2 tsp minced fresh garlic. For my spicy friends I add 1 TBS Picante Bufalo Sauce. It is very good, smoky and yeah, it's hot so go easy. Thanks for this recipe, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I liked the salad part, but the dressing was a bit bland. I think I'll just use a bottled asian dressing next time. Leftovers the next day were still great consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
great salad! Took a long time to prep everything, and the sauce/ final salad needs salt, so I added soy sauce to taste. Not a salad the average person can throw together with what's in their pantry though, I had to buy just about everything on the list so it got a little expensive, but man... after adding soy sauce.. SO YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This was a GORGEOUSLY FRESH SALAD. So pretty and tasted great. I thought there was plenty of flavor in the dressing and boy does this salad make a TON. This was a very tasty salad on a hot summer night. Only sub was a sweet onion and I used 2 BBQ chicken breasts from a previous dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I loved this. I make it for summer potlucks at church. It is always a big hit. It is a bit on the salty side, but I have never had any complaints. It is a little time consuming to make. all the chopping is kind of a pain, but the finished product is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Yum! Made it as written except for excluding the chicken to make it a lighter side dish. It was a huge hit with my family and friends who were over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I served this at my Mother's repast reception and it was a HIT. I did make some changes, as follows. I was serving approx. 30 people. 4 tsp white sugar (instead of 2); No cucumber; 1/2 cup diced green bell pepper; 1/2 bag shredded carrots (instead of 1 shredded carrot); 2 cans of mandarin oranges (instead of 1); 4 cups diced cooked chicken (instead of 2); 1 can water chestnuts, drained and cut into 1/4s; 16 oz tub fresh strawberries, drained and sliced into 1/4ths. Everyone at the reception really loved this recipe! Thanks, KatrinP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella Signora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I thought this salad was excellent. I wondered about the onion soup mix, but went ahead and made the recipe as written except I added dressing to the individual servings instead of the whole thing so it wouldn't be soggy the next day. It was colorful and flavorful. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States