Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Mmmmm! This was yummy! I did omit the oil and used vegetarian chicken. I have never cooked w/ onion soup mix, but I did love the dressing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Love, love, love the salad portion of this recipe -- so colorful, it's like eating the rainbow :) ... Unfortunately though, did not love, love, love the dressing. The onion soup mix tries to mimic a soy/umami component, but it's too salty and too freeze-dried-oniony.... hence the excess liquid of the oil, juice and vinegar is needed to compensate, but it just ends up pooling at the bottom of the bowl. Will use this same concept again, just with a different dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I was very disappointed after all the work that went into this salad. No one really liked it. It was very bland and I wanted to add soy sauce, but was out! I did use the onion soup mix suggested by the first reviewer and my grocery store did not have sesame oil. I really doubt whether that would have salvaged it. I added more rice vinegar and sugar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Can't wait to make this! Just a hint to keep ginger on hand. Buy a piece and wrap tightly in foil, then peel with a spoon and grate as needed :) Trick I learned from Rachel Ray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
One of the best salads I've ever had. You will want to make extra of this! I see several complaints about how long this takes to make, but I didn't think this was bad at all. I do recommend buying a ginger paste (look for the Gourmet Garden tube of ginger in the refrigerated produce section of the store). I put in a good heaping tablespoon of this in the dressing, and I also put in a couple splashes of extra orange juice. Next time I will see if I can get away with less oil, but I stuck to the recipe this time around. I also used grape tomatoes rather than cutting up roma tomatoes. I grilled a couple of chicken breasts with a peppercorn mix rub and it all went together perfectly. Will make this over and over. I know this will be a bit hit at our neighborhood pot lucks this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
delicious! this is definitely a family favorite. What makes it killer though, is to tenderize and marinate the chicken in a little bit of the dressing sans onion soup mix. Then I bake the chicken for 20 minutes at 375. It's very much worth the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
So fresh, so delicious. Dressing could be a little more flavorful, perhaps by adding a touch more ginger. Of course, we didn't use fresh ginger, so maybe that would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
My husband is picky and didn't like it. He said he didn't like the mandarin oranges or the pasta in it and it was bland. If I put more dressing on it, I didn't mind it. It was light and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I very much enjoyed this recipe! The colors were bright and the flavors were good. I followed the recipe exactly as written and would definitely make this again. However, I would make one small change and that is I would try green onions instead of red onions. The red are good but had a bit of a bite to them and green onions would work perfectly with the Asian flavors in this salad. Also, I would use a little less sesame oil at first and add as needed. It was a little heavy on the sesame flavor for me, but that could just be my taste. Overall, solid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was a very good recipe, didn't feel like making orange juice so used one tablespoon concentrate...worked great:) My kids begged me to make it again for them soon...but they would like more bowtie pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States