Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
followed recipe excately, I think it needs more ginger and oranges but very good...takes some time to cut everything but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed the dressing on this salad. Many members expressed concern about the sodium in the onion soup mix, but I felt it blended quite well with the other ingredients involved in the mix. It is a lot of work. My big worry was when to assemble the entire salad in fear that the contents would either dry out or get mushy. I made the dressing and grilled the chicken the night before, and assembled the entire salad the day of our party. The mixture sat refrigerated for a long time, and it was very good. However, I must say that the dish tasted a lot better the next day. In the future, I will make the salad the night before and also possibly increase the amount of dressing to bolden the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
All I can say is "WOW!" I made this yesterday for a Labor Day picnic. It was devoured, so I had to make another trip to the grocery store to get more ingredients for another today! Yum! I made the homemade onion soup mix and used about 1/3 c of the dry mix in the dressing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Love this salad!!! Followed the recipe to a T. Great combination of flavors, and the dressing is perfect, wouldn't change a thing! Made for a perfect summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
If I could give this salad 10 stars, I would. A lot of my favorite things (except raw red onions) in one dish. I wasn't sure about mixing dry onion soup mix with toasted sesame oil, ginger and orange juice, but it was delicious! Everyone loved it. I followed the recipe except I used a very small amount of diced Vidalia onion (personal taste), a tiny bit less of the soup mix (was a little concerned about the amount of salt) and a little more orange juice (we love citrus dressings). For the chicken, we have an excellent little pizza/sub shop in the area with the best grilled chicken breast sandwiches. I called and ordered a couple of the breasts (plain - just salt and pepper and grilled) and picked them up on the way home. Easy and cheap! All of the flavors and ingredients just went together perfectly. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow for lunch. We will have this often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I love this salad! I'm not particularly fond of the texture of the fresh spinach leaves and will leave them out next time, but the taste is wonderful! I'll be making this for the next cook out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
The flavor is yes, delicious... but this recipe just took me FOREVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Two thumbs up! this is relay good can't wait to make it for a family function.The dressing is so yummy that alone would be great on a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Stephanie*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stuyvesant, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This salad was superb. The dressing tasted so delicious that I have to admit that I am suprised that dry onion soup mix made it. The fresh ginger really added an authenticity to the taste, and the left-over grilled chicken that I used blended very nicely with the other flavors. I was looking for something that would stand alone as a dinner to take for a picnic and this was just right. Thanks for the tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodfan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
amazing! It is important to only add the listed quantities of ingredients! for example, don't just throw in the whole cucumber, pepper, the approximate amount of spinach...etc. I did this once and it diluted the taste way too much!!! follow the directions and it is PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily
Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States