Mandarin Almond Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
AWESOME!! This salad rocks! If you like sweet, it's for you. I added some dried cranberries to it (about 1 cup to 1.5 cups would be good). The almonds really add a nice flavor, just don't overcook them. Thanks, Bonnie. I'm sure I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
What a delicious salad! The oranges give it great color, and the dressing & almonds are so good. I left the onions out & served them on the side. My guests loved it! The other day I made this & added avocado, which was great too. The almonds are a cinch, but once they start to brown they can burn quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I am not a big salad fan but this one is FANTASTIC. The different textures and flavors work really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
This was wonderful. I made it for a dinner for 8 and it was gone in no time. I used spinach instead of romaine. Perfect, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Very good salad. I served it for a dinner with friends and it was well received. I thought the vinegar taste in the dressing was a little strong. I will probably use a pre-made rasberry vinaigrette the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
Delicious and easy. To save a step, I used the pre-packaged honey roasted slivered almonds available at most supermarkets. My Mother usually will not eat salad w/nuts and fruit but as soon as she tasted this, she asked for the recipe! She makes it more often than I do now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Excellent blend of flavors & colors! My husband had been asking for more meal-type salads for dinner (trying to watch the waistline). I made this as directed and added some cubed cooked chicken for protein. He couldn't stop raving about it! My only recommendation to those trying this for the 1st time is don't turn your back on those almonds for a second! They burn easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
My only thought to add would be to keep stirring those almonds in the sugar until melted don't wait until the melting begins. Great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bruinius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
DELISH!! I made this for a Mother's Day Brunch and everyone loved it. My mom even asked for the recipe. Very easy to make. I left out the green onions and it was still a big hit. I put the leftover salad and dressing in a container and took it to work the next day... still wonderful! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
I brought this salad to Easter dinner. My mother grandmother who are wonderful cooks loved the salad. My sister, who is always honest, told me she loved it and wouldn't change a thing. I, on the other hand, thought the dressing need a little something. Maybe the olive oil gave it a little bitterness? I had leftovers and added raspberry vinagrette to the dressing and I enjoyed the salad a lot better! I would make it again. The almonds made the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States