Mandarin Almond Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I don't know what happened, but this did not turn out for me. The dressing just tasted oily. I did really like the sugared almonds though. Those were fabulous. I probably won't this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
it was excellent the first day with dressing on the side. the next day even without dressing slathered on the leftovers it was wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I give this 4 stars for the idea! I love the madarin oranges and sugared almonds. I added about 1 T of water when cooking the almonds, and it sped-up the process tremendously. I also used a bottled raspberry-walnut vinagrette, it cut down on the ingredients and time, and still tasted awesome. I used three kinds of lettuce, red leaf, romaine, and just a tad of iceberg for extra crunch--and it was beautiful when all assembled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I made this salad to go along with a Christmas Eve dinner at my mother's and it was a huge hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. Next time I'm going to try adding chicken and making it a dinner salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Simple salad that is really tasty. I also added some Craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I've made this salad on three occasions and it has been excellent each time. I forgot the green onions one time- and I must admit that they do kick it up a notch, but the salad is delicious regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Very good. The almond part is easy and so delicious my bf and I couldn't stop eating them. Nutritious, easy, good. I'll make this again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This is like having dessert at the beginning of a meal! While the dressing and basic salad are tasty, the sugared almonds are the star IMO. Takes a little more effort that your average salad, but it's well worth it. I added some salt and cayenne pepper to the sugar, and it works out very nicely for anyone who likes a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANGEROUSPENGUIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I served this to company last night and they loved it. My husband and I felt the salad needed salt and black pepper. Be sure to add the dressing right before serving; otherwise, the salad will become soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Very good salad. The almonds really add to the taste - don't leave them out. I used a bag of mixed lettuce because that is what I had. I also left the dressing off so we could put on the amount each of us wanted. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States