Mandarin Almond Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I don't know what happened, but this did not turn out for me. The dressing just tasted oily. I did really like the sugared almonds though. Those were fabulous. I probably won't this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
it was excellent the first day with dressing on the side. the next day even without dressing slathered on the leftovers it was wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I give this 4 stars for the idea! I love the madarin oranges and sugared almonds. I added about 1 T of water when cooking the almonds, and it sped-up the process tremendously. I also used a bottled raspberry-walnut vinagrette, it cut down on the ingredients and time, and still tasted awesome. I used three kinds of lettuce, red leaf, romaine, and just a tad of iceberg for extra crunch--and it was beautiful when all assembled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I made this salad to go along with a Christmas Eve dinner at my mother's and it was a huge hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. Next time I'm going to try adding chicken and making it a dinner salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Simple salad that is really tasty. I also added some Craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I've made this salad on three occasions and it has been excellent each time. I forgot the green onions one time- and I must admit that they do kick it up a notch, but the salad is delicious regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Very good. The almond part is easy and so delicious my bf and I couldn't stop eating them. Nutritious, easy, good. I'll make this again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This is like having dessert at the beginning of a meal! While the dressing and basic salad are tasty, the sugared almonds are the star IMO. Takes a little more effort that your average salad, but it's well worth it. I added some salt and cayenne pepper to the sugar, and it works out very nicely for anyone who likes a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANGEROUSPENGUIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I served this to company last night and they loved it. My husband and I felt the salad needed salt and black pepper. Be sure to add the dressing right before serving; otherwise, the salad will become soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Very good salad. The almonds really add to the taste - don't leave them out. I used a bag of mixed lettuce because that is what I had. I also left the dressing off so we could put on the amount each of us wanted. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States