Mancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I love cornmeal pancakes so I really enjoyed these. I was skeptical at first although, I like sweet and savory, cheese inside of a pancake was a little odd to me. I eliminated the black and Cayenne pepper, I thought it was a bit much. I absolutely hate all forms of onion so instead of onion I used a fresh finely chopped jalapeno pepper which added some heat back to the recipe. I made them twice and enjoyed them each time. I actually think they could've use more cheese. I didn't really notice the cheese in the finished product. The next time I'll try adding more. I also found the chipotle syrup to be a nice addition. I could see these as a part of a savory dish; they kind of remind me of a Latin corn cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joi Witcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
A great start to our day! Used 1/2 the onion & used brown sugar substitute. A new favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
skeptical at first but everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Excellent. Might add more cheese next time and more cayenne and chipotle to have a bit more heat. No changes were required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Thank you! On our family vacation last month we were served these at a little shop in Astoria OR and loved them. The family has been trying to find the recipe and this is so close. Served as a savory breakfast with sour cream and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These were just ok for us. Mr. LTH deemed them "too greasy" and neither one of use finished ours. I followed the recipe as written, save the addition of black pepper, per personal preference. I served this with a side of beer, and that was a hit, but the pancakes themselves fell a bit flat of our expectations (bacon, onions, cheddar, heat...how can you go wrong?!). Worth a shot, but won't be a repeater on the breakfast table at the LTH house. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kriegerog
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was easy and fun to make. My kids and wife loved it. If your kids didn't you should probably get them off the fast food diet. The only thing I did was add a bit more bacon. Probably used about 10oz total and added a little bit more chipotle powder to the syrup. I also made home made maple syrup. Way better than store bought and cut out the vegetable oil and used coconut instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriegerog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made this for my husband for Father's Day 2014. He loved them and my daughter wants me to make them again this weekend. I cheated and used pre-cooked real bacon bits, which I sautéed with the green onions. I had planned to add a little butter if necessary, but I didn't have to. I didn't add the bacon grease to the griddle, but I think the flavor was fine without. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
GREAT. We all enjoyed these—even two little kids (who had plain maple syrup on top of theirs, not spiked). The skillet in which I cooked the bacon got pretty dark, so rather than using it to cook the scallions, I just added them to the bowl with the butter and microwaved 'em until the butter melted. I used less than half a cup, just because I didn't have enough scallions. I also used ancho chile powder in the syrup because I didn't have chipotle. This was a fun Father's Day breakfast—kind of a special-occasion splurge, like biscuits and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made a half-batch of these for Father's Day yesterday. Left out the chili in cakes and syrup because Dad's not a fan of spicy but they were excellent, a little thick so next time I'll add a bit more milk but overall well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Mancakes

Do Dad a flavor favor! Cornmeal pancakes with built-in bacon and Cheddar cheese.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States