Mancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
A great start to our day! Used 1/2 the onion & used brown sugar substitute. A new favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
skeptical at first but everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Excellent. Might add more cheese next time and more cayenne and chipotle to have a bit more heat. No changes were required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Thank you! On our family vacation last month we were served these at a little shop in Astoria OR and loved them. The family has been trying to find the recipe and this is so close. Served as a savory breakfast with sour cream and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These were just ok for us. Mr. LTH deemed them "too greasy" and neither one of use finished ours. I followed the recipe as written, save the addition of black pepper, per personal preference. I served this with a side of beer, and that was a hit, but the pancakes themselves fell a bit flat of our expectations (bacon, onions, cheddar, heat...how can you go wrong?!). Worth a shot, but won't be a repeater on the breakfast table at the LTH house. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kriegerog
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was easy and fun to make. My kids and wife loved it. If your kids didn't you should probably get them off the fast food diet. The only thing I did was add a bit more bacon. Probably used about 10oz total and added a little bit more chipotle powder to the syrup. I also made home made maple syrup. Way better than store bought and cut out the vegetable oil and used coconut instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriegerog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made this for my husband for Father's Day 2014. He loved them and my daughter wants me to make them again this weekend. I cheated and used pre-cooked real bacon bits, which I sautéed with the green onions. I had planned to add a little butter if necessary, but I didn't have to. I didn't add the bacon grease to the griddle, but I think the flavor was fine without. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
GREAT. We all enjoyed these—even two little kids (who had plain maple syrup on top of theirs, not spiked). The skillet in which I cooked the bacon got pretty dark, so rather than using it to cook the scallions, I just added them to the bowl with the butter and microwaved 'em until the butter melted. I used less than half a cup, just because I didn't have enough scallions. I also used ancho chile powder in the syrup because I didn't have chipotle. This was a fun Father's Day breakfast—kind of a special-occasion splurge, like biscuits and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made a half-batch of these for Father's Day yesterday. Left out the chili in cakes and syrup because Dad's not a fan of spicy but they were excellent, a little thick so next time I'll add a bit more milk but overall well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made these Mancakes with the help of my teenage daughters and they had a blast. In the beginning they thought the recipe a awkward but they figured it was something that my husband would enjoy for Father's Day. He also took a look at the video and thought it look rather tasty and it did. The Family enjoyed it and adjust the serving to 16 for a family of six and to include left overs. Everyone thought it was tasty and they mostly tast the Bacon and Chedde…Yum. It's like all your side dishes all in one cake cause you need nothing else on your plate when it comes to this recipe. Just eating two gets you full and its easy to do. Needless to say my husband end up eating 4 and his Belly was happy which made him head straight to the couch. Totally a Man Meal thanks Chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Jabon-Inniss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Mancakes

Do Dad a flavor favor! Cornmeal pancakes with built-in bacon and Cheddar cheese.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States