Man Pleasin' Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Entire family, including 12-year-old son and 8-year-old daughter cleaned their plate. My wife and I had two helpings. Sized recipe for 6 servings and there was plenty left over. Took others suggestions and cut broth back to 2-1/2 cups from 3, added a can of diced tomatoes including juice, added 3 large cloves of garlic (minced), added 1/2-lb. small/medium frozen shrimp (last 10 minutes), substituted turkey kielbasa for smoked sausage, and substituted chopped baby bella mushrooms for canned. Sauteed bell pepper, onion, carrots (chopped), celery, mushrooms, & garlic until onions were soft. Added kielbasa and tomotoes after chicken was browned/cooked mostly through. A definite keeper in our family. Very rare when all agree the food was good. Thanks everyone for the great suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This recipe tastes fine, but it is very far from any recipe I have ever used to make traditional cajun jambalaya. I'm originally from Lafayette, La in the heart of cajun country so I have eaten Jambalaya my entire life. It tastes good, but it isn't jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I read the reviews yesterday and thought that the recipe was simple enough so I tried it last night. I'm pretty sure it took me more than 15 minutes of prep time, but I agree with the other reviews that this meal went over well with my husband and kids. I did follow other reviewers' leads and made my own adjustments, chopping the carrots instead of slicing and sauteing them with the green peppers, celery, onion, and of course lots of garlic. Then I added the chicken. I too added a can of diced tomatoes with the juice, cutting back on the broth. I tend to like things a little more seasoned and spicy, so next time I think I would add a tablespoon of cajun seasoning after adding the chicken and use andouille sausage instead of smoked. But all in all with some steamed broccoli on the side, it was a pretty good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
OK recipe if you're not from the South like I am. It's definitely bland and not hot and spicy like the real thing. Also, I'd use Andouille sausage and leave out carrots. I've never heard of carrots in a Jambalays before! More onions, garlic and real Cajun seasoning...like Tony's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TES_97
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
used andouille sausage instead of smoked, also added red bell pepper to give a little color, used cajun spice blend instead of the cayenne pepper, was very good, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
One of our household favorites because it is a one dish meal (no dishwasher) and is ready in under an hour from start to finish. And it is pretty healthy when I sub my favorite turkey sausage! The only change we make is to adjust proportions (1 can chicken broth, 1 c. rice, two carrots, two celery, 2 chicken breast halves, 1/2. turkey sausage loop, whole small onion, half green pepper) and we add a 16 oz. can of diced tomatoes with the rice. May not really be Jambalaya, but it is totally tasty and satisfying on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Although this was very tastey, it did not remind me of the Jambalaya I have had down south. I spruced it up a bit and added Talpia fish, but ommited the sausage(we dont eat read meat. I used an array of spices from chili powder to carribean jerk seasoning. I also added sweet corn, okra, and diced tomatoes. It was definitly delicious, and I think it's a great recipe for first timers with Jambalya and families that don't really like spicey food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Loved it. Did change the recipe a bit. Chicken sausage... more onion, a ton more spice and heat. The aroma stuck in the house overnight and I dreamed about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
too bland...blah...would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
this was great made it for a dinner party i was having and used a crockpot to mix it all and keep it warm i tend to love my crockpot in summer for meals and use it when ever i can. i cooked it on high for an hour then low for up to 4 hours but hardly anything was left by then the only thing i would add was garlic but then afain being italian garlic goes wtih everything !! thank you it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States