Man Pleasin' Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was great!!! Even my 2year old ate it!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I asked the butcher for smoked sausage and he gave me andouille susage which was good. I made the recipe as stated and found the sausage gave heat but the meal lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I used about 1 1/2 Tblsp of Minor's Chicken base to the 6 cups of water and only 1 1/2 cups of the rice. No added salt as the sausage and chicken base took care of that. I did sprinkle the chicken pieces with a little of Paul Prudhomme's Poultry Magic. The rice soaked up every bit of the broth. The dish was flavorful but not spicy in any way. I will reheat it and add in a little Bayou Blast to liven it up. I've made heavier rice/chicken casseroles that were loaded with extra calories and not nearly as flavorful as this was. I couldn't find my little bag of frozen tail-less shrimp or that would have gone in also. Sausage was skinless. Makes a lot and would be a great take-along dish for a potluck. Enjoyed all the suggestions especially the one about adding tomatoes. Will make this again. It's a good dish to turn the grandkids loose with and let them season to their own preference. I did use the carrots .... about a good handful of baby carrots which I chopped finely in the food processor. They added flavor and were thoroughly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Loved it. Did change the recipe a bit. Chicken sausage... more onion, a ton more spice and heat. The aroma stuck in the house overnight and I dreamed about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
OK recipe if you're not from the South like I am. It's definitely bland and not hot and spicy like the real thing. Also, I'd use Andouille sausage and leave out carrots. I've never heard of carrots in a Jambalays before! More onions, garlic and real Cajun seasoning...like Tony's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was great! I recommend this recipe and will make it again myself very soon! Had it with a bowl of grated cheddar, hot sauce and a nice cold beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
too bland. Fresh garlic, chili powder, worchesteshire, and hot sauce give this recipe a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Entire family, including 12-year-old son and 8-year-old daughter cleaned their plate. My wife and I had two helpings. Sized recipe for 6 servings and there was plenty left over. Took others suggestions and cut broth back to 2-1/2 cups from 3, added a can of diced tomatoes including juice, added 3 large cloves of garlic (minced), added 1/2-lb. small/medium frozen shrimp (last 10 minutes), substituted turkey kielbasa for smoked sausage, and substituted chopped baby bella mushrooms for canned. Sauteed bell pepper, onion, carrots (chopped), celery, mushrooms, & garlic until onions were soft. Added kielbasa and tomotoes after chicken was browned/cooked mostly through. A definite keeper in our family. Very rare when all agree the food was good. Thanks everyone for the great suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This recipe tastes fine, but it is very far from any recipe I have ever used to make traditional cajun jambalaya. I'm originally from Lafayette, La in the heart of cajun country so I have eaten Jambalaya my entire life. It tastes good, but it isn't jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
The recipe cooked up well and had a great taste. Easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States