Man Pleasin' Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe - we really enjoyed it! I think, for our spicy tastes, it would have been a bit bland, but we spiced it up a little and it was excellent! I added extra onion and chopped up 2 cloves of garlic and fried it with the onions. I left out the mushrooms. I also (made it scaled to 4 servings) added 1 full tbsp. cayenne and 2 tbsp cajun seasoning, and finally I had about 1 cup of stewed tomatoes left from something else I was cooking, and I threw this in. I added a little extra rice to compensate for the extra liquid, but not much because we were actually happy that it wasn't all absorbed at the end. My husband loves his gravy! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Quick to make, easy and super tasty. I added 2 large cloves garlic, diced and about 1 1/2 cups frozen okra--thrown in for the last 7 minutes. My 12 yr old son says 10 stars! By the way, this makes a TON of food! I only made 1/2 the recipe and have LOTS of yummy leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very good recipe! Makes A LOT....instead of canned mushrooms, I sauteed 8 oz of sliced fresh and added them to the meat mixture. My husband likes Jambalaya more liquid, so I added more chicken stock after completing the cooking. Had some to freeze and leftovers for a couple of days. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mohrsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was great!!! Even my 2year old ate it!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I asked the butcher for smoked sausage and he gave me andouille susage which was good. I made the recipe as stated and found the sausage gave heat but the meal lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I used about 1 1/2 Tblsp of Minor's Chicken base to the 6 cups of water and only 1 1/2 cups of the rice. No added salt as the sausage and chicken base took care of that. I did sprinkle the chicken pieces with a little of Paul Prudhomme's Poultry Magic. The rice soaked up every bit of the broth. The dish was flavorful but not spicy in any way. I will reheat it and add in a little Bayou Blast to liven it up. I've made heavier rice/chicken casseroles that were loaded with extra calories and not nearly as flavorful as this was. I couldn't find my little bag of frozen tail-less shrimp or that would have gone in also. Sausage was skinless. Makes a lot and would be a great take-along dish for a potluck. Enjoyed all the suggestions especially the one about adding tomatoes. Will make this again. It's a good dish to turn the grandkids loose with and let them season to their own preference. I did use the carrots .... about a good handful of baby carrots which I chopped finely in the food processor. They added flavor and were thoroughly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Loved it. Did change the recipe a bit. Chicken sausage... more onion, a ton more spice and heat. The aroma stuck in the house overnight and I dreamed about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
OK recipe if you're not from the South like I am. It's definitely bland and not hot and spicy like the real thing. Also, I'd use Andouille sausage and leave out carrots. I've never heard of carrots in a Jambalays before! More onions, garlic and real Cajun seasoning...like Tony's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was great! I recommend this recipe and will make it again myself very soon! Had it with a bowl of grated cheddar, hot sauce and a nice cold beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
too bland. Fresh garlic, chili powder, worchesteshire, and hot sauce give this recipe a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States