Man Pleasin' Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
The title was right, my husband loved this both times I made it. I followed some of the other reviews and added a can of diced tomatoes with chilies, okra, doubled the cayenne pepper and omitted the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Jambalaya doesn't have carrots in it ... is what my man says. :) He suggested more veggies and it would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Family loved this. I added more cayenne pepper than stated and we sprinkled soy sauce over after serving. Definitely a keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Lowered the amount of chicken, added more veggies and some garlic, and added a little extra rice. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I followed it to the tee. It could have been spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Just the recipe I was looking for, to take to next week's Pot Luck. My family rated it "best ever Jambalaya"! I replaced some of the broth with a tin of chopped tomato and doubled the mushrooms. After browning the chicken breast, I kept it warm and added it 10 minutes before the end, to prevent overcooking. I also gave the Jambalaya 10 minutes standing time, before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Oh....This is a must...it pleased all of my fussy children and I will be making this weekly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is really good, but if you like your Jambalaya spicy you'll need to add some heat to it. My kids don't like spicy food(yet!)so this was just right for them. To give it more flavor I added shrimp, one can of Rotel tomatoes, and used fresh mushrooms. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhasset, New York, USA
Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Made this for the very first time that anyone in my family (including myself) had tasted jambalaya. I wasn't ASKED to make it again --- I was TOLD that I would. It was even a big hit with my 3yo grand daughter who is a picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe - we really enjoyed it! I think, for our spicy tastes, it would have been a bit bland, but we spiced it up a little and it was excellent! I added extra onion and chopped up 2 cloves of garlic and fried it with the onions. I left out the mushrooms. I also (made it scaled to 4 servings) added 1 full tbsp. cayenne and 2 tbsp cajun seasoning, and finally I had about 1 cup of stewed tomatoes left from something else I was cooking, and I threw this in. I added a little extra rice to compensate for the extra liquid, but not much because we were actually happy that it wasn't all absorbed at the end. My husband loves his gravy! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States