Man Pleasin' Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Two thumbs down. I made the recipe as stated, other than adding a can of Rotel tomatoes, and there was just no flavor to speak of. The rice was bland, the chicken was bland; there was some kick from the heat of the Rotel spice, but that was pretty much it. I added some Liquid Smoke which helped out some, but it still seemed like it was missing something. So I added half a can of tomato sauce. Small improvement, but not a fix for the flavor it was missing. I am not familiar with what Jambalaya SHOULD taste like, so maybe this is a good recipe for Jamalaya. I'm sure there are lots of picky kids and meat-and-potatoes hubbies out there who might be pleased with this meal since no flavor really exists to offend anyone's pallette, but our family prefers more flavor than this dish had to offer. I highly recommend cutting the servings back to 6 until you know for sure if you need more (if you are, say, feeding an army or high school football team)--I started out at six servings and had PLENTY for four adults. It almost filled up an entire 4-qt dutch oven and rice goes a long way, so people don't tend to eat as many servings of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXY821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was my first attempt at jambalaya and it was a hit! I converted the recipe to 3 servings and added 1.5 cups of chix broth and .5 cup water and 2 cups of rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was really fun to make and very tasty! I used coconut oil instead of vegetable, added about two tablespoons of my favorite hot sauce, since I like things spicy and one can of stewed tomatos. Also, I used turkey sausage and added cooked shrimp about 5 minutes before the dish was done. ...And yes, a pleased my man with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Awesome! My wife took this to work with her and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
this was very easy however i left out the carrots and mushrooms i added fresh roasted garlic and several other things to season like hot pepper sauce , cajun seasoning and worchester sauce . to me it definetly needed more flavor to spice it up but it was easy not sure if i would make it again or not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLVUSA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Great meal....one pot as promised. I added a bit extra but went over very well with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLVUSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Excellent! Even my husband liked it and he doesn't like "mixtures". Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I found this recipe a little bland. Also, the rice seemed to be a little mushy. I am not sure if it is me of my equipment - probably me, that everytime I try to make a rice dish it just doesn't turn out. I love Jambalaya but can never seem to make it at home succesfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
The title was right, my husband loved this both times I made it. I followed some of the other reviews and added a can of diced tomatoes with chilies, okra, doubled the cayenne pepper and omitted the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Jambalaya doesn't have carrots in it ... is what my man says. :) He suggested more veggies and it would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States