Man Pleasin' Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe was AWESOME! The only change I made was to omit mushrooms and to use chipotle powder in place of cayenne pepper. I've made this twice and it's been a HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
5 stars as prepared using comments from others! This is a great weeknight shortcut version of the much more time-consuming jambalaya. Based on others comments: used andoille sausage, skipped carrots and mushrooms, substituted poblano for green bell pepper, reduced broth, added diced canned tomatoes with juice, added lots of garlic and cajun seasoning to taste. We also added frozen shrimp near the end and let the mixture simmer a little longer. BIG HIT serving a weekend special for company dish on a weeknight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBETRAVLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
i made by directions with the exception of the cayenne seasoning. but other then that it was something different from my normal pattern of cooking. so it was a 4 simply because it was missing something else, but it was really good! thanx for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My hubby loves this dish!!!! I do cut down on the rice by 1/2 a cup and the chicken by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toutty Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Delicious jambalaya! I omitted the celery (my boys don't care for it) and added 1 cup of fresh spinach leaves. The only reason I didn't give this recipe five stars is that the carrots were a bit mushy. I will slice them thicker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was a big hit at my house! My son had been asking for Jambalaya, so I looked on here and found this one. Only change I made was to leave out the mushrooms - personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was really good. My kids loved it, and even my lovey hubby liked it (that's saying alot - he is really picky about creole recipes). I used Tony's creole seasoning in this and I don't think I added enouph, but the chicken flavor really helped the rice alot! I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Even with the serving size dialed down, this recipe makes a lot of food. It is a solid dish, and one I would recommend to any cook looking for a good Jamalaya recipe. It lasts in the fridge for quite a bit longer than one with shrimp would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarrettdaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I just finished making this dish and it is FANTASTIC! I substituted the chicken with shrimp, scallops and spicy hot Italian sausage. I also added hot pepper flakes and it is delicious and super simple to make. I will absolutely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is a great recipe. Was a big hit with my husband and kids. I did add some ham, and used a little less broth and a can of crushed tomatoes instead. I also added 2 cloves of crushed garlic because I'm a big garlic lover. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States