Man Pleasin' Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Even with the serving size dialed down, this recipe makes a lot of food. It is a solid dish, and one I would recommend to any cook looking for a good Jamalaya recipe. It lasts in the fridge for quite a bit longer than one with shrimp would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarrettdaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I just finished making this dish and it is FANTASTIC! I substituted the chicken with shrimp, scallops and spicy hot Italian sausage. I also added hot pepper flakes and it is delicious and super simple to make. I will absolutely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is a great recipe. Was a big hit with my husband and kids. I did add some ham, and used a little less broth and a can of crushed tomatoes instead. I also added 2 cloves of crushed garlic because I'm a big garlic lover. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Two thumbs down. I made the recipe as stated, other than adding a can of Rotel tomatoes, and there was just no flavor to speak of. The rice was bland, the chicken was bland; there was some kick from the heat of the Rotel spice, but that was pretty much it. I added some Liquid Smoke which helped out some, but it still seemed like it was missing something. So I added half a can of tomato sauce. Small improvement, but not a fix for the flavor it was missing. I am not familiar with what Jambalaya SHOULD taste like, so maybe this is a good recipe for Jamalaya. I'm sure there are lots of picky kids and meat-and-potatoes hubbies out there who might be pleased with this meal since no flavor really exists to offend anyone's pallette, but our family prefers more flavor than this dish had to offer. I highly recommend cutting the servings back to 6 until you know for sure if you need more (if you are, say, feeding an army or high school football team)--I started out at six servings and had PLENTY for four adults. It almost filled up an entire 4-qt dutch oven and rice goes a long way, so people don't tend to eat as many servings of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXY821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was my first attempt at jambalaya and it was a hit! I converted the recipe to 3 servings and added 1.5 cups of chix broth and .5 cup water and 2 cups of rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was really fun to make and very tasty! I used coconut oil instead of vegetable, added about two tablespoons of my favorite hot sauce, since I like things spicy and one can of stewed tomatos. Also, I used turkey sausage and added cooked shrimp about 5 minutes before the dish was done. ...And yes, a pleased my man with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Awesome! My wife took this to work with her and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
this was very easy however i left out the carrots and mushrooms i added fresh roasted garlic and several other things to season like hot pepper sauce , cajun seasoning and worchester sauce . to me it definetly needed more flavor to spice it up but it was easy not sure if i would make it again or not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLVUSA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Great meal....one pot as promised. I added a bit extra but went over very well with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLVUSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Excellent! Even my husband liked it and he doesn't like "mixtures". Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States