Man Pleasin' Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very good flavor. The only problem I had was the rice got a little soft. There were leftovers and the rice was not detectable the next day. I will make this again but I may keep the rice separate unitl we eat it. Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
my family and i really enjoyed this recipe, so easy. you can also add srimp and that tastes good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
no where close to the jambalaya that we cook in the south.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I signed up to be a member of allrecipes.com just so I could review & rate THIS recipe. It was fabulous; just made the following alterations: used linguica ( portugese sausage) instead of smoked sausage, added 3/4 lb of shrimp at the last 10 min, omitted carrots, doubled celery, added Tony's Cajun seasoning to chicken when browning, and the added another Tbsp to broth when I put the rice in. I also added 4 cloves of garlic when sautéing the veggies. I did not add tomatoes, as my husband is allergic, so that's what attracted me to this recipe. The tomatoes were not missed! This made a TON of food, but it's jambalaya-it's supposed to! Leftovers were AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyLauraLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Huge hit! I made this for a potluck and everyone asked for the reicpe. I substituted fresh mushrooms for the canned. I also only used 4cups of broth but added one can (don't drain out the juice) of diced tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I cheated and used Zatarains Jambalya rice mix instead of plain rice. Used beef sausage since we don't eat pork, and added 4 cloves of garlic, and several shakes of Tony Chachere's creole seasoing for flavor to sautee the aromatics and meat. I sauteed the onions, garlic and celery, omitted the carrots, then added the chicken chunks, and sausage. Simmered the rice until al dente, and added the meat/aromatic mixture. So, I technically used 2 pans/pots. No biggie in my opinion. I only used 2 large chicken breasts, and omitted the mushrooms. It's definitely a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAFWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was a fun dish to make. I added some fish, shrimp, old bay seasoning and some cajun seasoning to spice it up. Great, cheap, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Although this is not your typical southern jambalaya, it is still a favorite of mine. I do not use mushrooms, but add cajun seasoned shrimp and about 5 times the amount of the cayenne pepper to spide it up. Some chili powder will really put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
this recipe was great! i added about a tablespoon of cajun seasoning with the salt and pepper and it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I love this recipe.the taste was delicious.The only thing different I did was use long grain brown rice which must take longer to cook because the first time the rice was a little hard.I made this recipe at least once a month last winter.YUMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States