Man Pleasin' Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
no where close to the jambalaya that we cook in the south.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I signed up to be a member of allrecipes.com just so I could review & rate THIS recipe. It was fabulous; just made the following alterations: used linguica ( portugese sausage) instead of smoked sausage, added 3/4 lb of shrimp at the last 10 min, omitted carrots, doubled celery, added Tony's Cajun seasoning to chicken when browning, and the added another Tbsp to broth when I put the rice in. I also added 4 cloves of garlic when sautéing the veggies. I did not add tomatoes, as my husband is allergic, so that's what attracted me to this recipe. The tomatoes were not missed! This made a TON of food, but it's jambalaya-it's supposed to! Leftovers were AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyLauraLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Huge hit! I made this for a potluck and everyone asked for the reicpe. I substituted fresh mushrooms for the canned. I also only used 4cups of broth but added one can (don't drain out the juice) of diced tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I cheated and used Zatarains Jambalya rice mix instead of plain rice. Used beef sausage since we don't eat pork, and added 4 cloves of garlic, and several shakes of Tony Chachere's creole seasoing for flavor to sautee the aromatics and meat. I sauteed the onions, garlic and celery, omitted the carrots, then added the chicken chunks, and sausage. Simmered the rice until al dente, and added the meat/aromatic mixture. So, I technically used 2 pans/pots. No biggie in my opinion. I only used 2 large chicken breasts, and omitted the mushrooms. It's definitely a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAFWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was a fun dish to make. I added some fish, shrimp, old bay seasoning and some cajun seasoning to spice it up. Great, cheap, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Although this is not your typical southern jambalaya, it is still a favorite of mine. I do not use mushrooms, but add cajun seasoned shrimp and about 5 times the amount of the cayenne pepper to spide it up. Some chili powder will really put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
this recipe was great! i added about a tablespoon of cajun seasoning with the salt and pepper and it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I love this recipe.the taste was delicious.The only thing different I did was use long grain brown rice which must take longer to cook because the first time the rice was a little hard.I made this recipe at least once a month last winter.YUMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I don't understand all the rave reviews of this recipe. I thought it would be a good jamabalaya recipe to try and it was just bland to me. I even added louisiana hot sausage, garlic, hot sauce, shrimp...it just wasn't that great. It's rare that I salt my food, but I certainly did on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
WOW!!! This was soooo good! I did not use carrots and I added a lot more celery and green pepper and it was really good. I will keep this one to make more often. Even my picky daughters ate it up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States