Man Pleasin' Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Man Pleasin' Jambalaya: "He was kinda pleased. Really needs some seasoning. Only did two swaps." I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and cubed zucchini instead of carrot (never heard of these kinds of veggies in jambalaya, but both the man and I always prefer more vegetables anyways!) and only scaled back for the two of us to eat, using 1/2 lb. andouille sausage. I thought the andouille would provide enough flavor to everything else, since the only spice was cayenne pepper, but I was wrong. After it had simmered and I had a nibble, it tasted like, well, not a whole lot, so I added two heaping teaspoons of Cajun seasoning which significantly helped. I won't argue the "is-it-or-isn't-it" traditional jambalaya b/c I liked the taste and did enjoy it, but regardless of the recipe's title, as it is written is severely lacking in the flavor department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by chondra
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is a "go-to recipe that I make for my boyfriend! He absolutely loves it! It makes enough for him to take to work for lunch during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Followed the recipe, wouldn't change a thing. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is a really easy recipe and with my busy life I need easy! I bought some N'Orleans Cajun Seasoning by Webber and put a little more then recipe called for to spice it up a bit. Nice thing about this recipe is that you can add to it to make more spice or just leave it how it is to keep it simple and easier on the kid's mouths. I made fried pickles on the side and ceasar salad and it was an excellent meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellybellyjean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
exceptional flavor. my three year old loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Really good. I had 2 servings and my husband went back for thirds. Its great if you can't handle a lot of heat, but if you want it spicier just add more cayenne and some Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is easy to cook, easy instructions, and not much cleaning to do afterwards! Only thing i do differently is leave out the carrots, And this meal pleases everyone even my 1 1/2 year old daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This pleased not only my man but my 7 year old daughter and myself as well. I didn't have sausage so I added some shrimp and had to omit the celery due to not having any on hand. There wasn't any spiciness to this but had the perfect amount of flavor. Subtle, light and a healthy feeling. It left us all feeling good and full and there are plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I have two jobs and am a full time student so my time and resources are limited when it comes to cooking, but I have to say this was probably one of the easiest, cleanest, and best tasting things I've cooked so far. I didn't have all the ingredients so I used what I could including Cajun rice-a-roni instead of long grain rice, louisiana sausage instead of sausage, a red bell pepper, nix the carrots and cellery, fresh mushrooms. Since I was cooking for me and my boyfriend who can't handle too much spice, I made two pots, one spicier then the other. In his I poured in a little milk and less cayenne pepper. My roommates got to the rest of it before I could save any leftovers. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very good flavor. The only problem I had was the rice got a little soft. There were leftovers and the rice was not detectable the next day. I will make this again but I may keep the rice separate unitl we eat it. Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States